Coffee Lake 6 core, this August with z370 chipsets?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by AbRASiON, Apr 26, 2017.

  1. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,405
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Hey all, you guys running 5ghz daily tunes (probably nearly everyone ...) What do you run your cache multi at?

    :)
     
  2. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,325
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
  3. demowhc

    demowhc Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,852
    Location:
    Melbourne
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,801
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    ROG MAXIMUS X HERO firmware update.

    https://www.asus.com/au/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-X-HERO/HelpDesk_BIOS/
     
  5. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,827
    Location:
    Canberra
  6. c4dderly

    c4dderly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Melbourne
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,801
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Firmware updates are cumulative yes?
     
  8. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,958
    They usually replace the entire firmware with a new one - that's presumably better than the old version. So... Yeah?
     
  9. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Melbourne
    So i read something today that indicated the next intel desktop cpu's will be coming out on a new socket: Is that right or will 10th gen be 1151? No idea what's fact or fiction tbh

    I'm looking for an excuse to update my 6700K and want an Oct core...I was thinking 9700K and since it's still 1151 it'll be easy to re-use same CPU block and not have to even open my loop at all, but not sure whether it'd be worth wile holding off 6 months to get maybe a newer CPU again and hopefully the current block might fit or minimal bracket change to suit...Otherwise i was thinking maybe the Ryzen 3700x since it'll probably hang around longer?
     
  10. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,958
    It's Intel.

    They'll find some way of changing the socket.
    They'll create 1152 if it means they can sell more chipsets.
     
  11. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,041
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Yep regardless they'll make sure there's no backwards compatability like they did with coffee lake (unofficially people have done firmware hacks and pencil mods to run an 8700k on z170/z270 boards). As far as waterblock compatability I'd say it's quite likely it'll still be S1151 physically even if they change what a couple of the pins do electrically like they did with cofee lake and they'll go a new socket later on once there is tech requiring more pins to actually justify the cost changing/retooling/redesign (eg DDR5)
     
  12. c4dderly

    c4dderly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    Melbourne
    https://www.pcgamesn.com/intel/comet-lake-release-date-performance-specs-price
     
  13. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,325
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Sigh more shit to buy next year
     
  14. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Lol.

    Yeah, i might just wait or go Ryzen since i get impulsive and impatient...
     
  15. neopheX

    neopheX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Location:
    Brisbane
  16. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,801
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    :lol: I'm probably due for an upgrade.
     
  17. neopheX

    neopheX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    756
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Is there even a way to save and restore your OC settings on every new BIOS update you do? Fucken, it's tedious re-entering it all surely the bios updates can't be too much different where your old saved profile will not work?
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2019
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  18. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,801
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Tell me about it! I take screenshots of every bios screen so I can replicate it. Not many settings change tbh.
     
  19. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Some mobos have the feature to export settings to USB. I know ASUS does on the X570-F (which is for Ryzen) but i'm sure it's available on the Intel equivalent :thumbup:
     
  20. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,325
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    50x core 45x uncore XMP rams. Core 1.25v -1.3v depending Uncore Auto 1.5v dram done. That'd be 30 sec max
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: