Coffee Lake 6 core, this August with z370 chipsets?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by AbRASiON, Apr 26, 2017.

  1. DNX

    DNX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Hobart
    Same from FUTU Online (through EBay) with the 20% discount atm.
     
    kiwimeat likes this.
  2. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,319
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    5Ghz Cinebench R15 challenge. Not giving you any clues on the ram speed :p
    Should be easy right 1680 Shane's on a budget board & not so great 3600 b-die's

    [​IMG]
     
  3. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,043
    Location:
    3132
    chip is in the mail, I was doing 4100 all tight with it at PAX though, suspect end of my mem's ability, not necessarily the board.
    best bios for last two gens by far.
     
  4. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    642
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif
    Not bad. I think I will play. First run with crap ram @ 3000 everything open was only 1620. I think I will swap some stuff around tonite ans see where we end up
     
  5. kiwimeat

    kiwimeat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Thanks for that. Saved $70 on the board. I also bagged their last 8700K which after the Ebay price inflation less the 20% off ended up as $580 so only $11 more than stores that don't have stock. Also ordered a Samsung 960 Evo 1TB M2.
    Ordered a Noctua NH-D15 from elsewhere and I'll grab some 3200MHz memory from Umart.
    Parts should arrive towards the end of the week.
     
  6. DNX

    DNX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Hobart
    NP:)
    Just bought Headin2001s binned 8700k and ordered a Asrock Z370 Taichi.
    Was tossing up between the Hero and Taichi so will be interesting to see results.
     
  7. mils1

    mils1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,027
    I get 1663 running @ 5GHz & Trident Z RGB 4 x 8GB XMP 3200 C14. Not sure on overclocking ram, what is the best course of action?
     
  8. Pursuit

    Pursuit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    I got 1687 at 5ghz, with memory at XMP 3600 timings.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,402
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    What volts are you guys getting 5GHz stable with? Just wondering who has the lowest and what the average is.

    :)
     
  10. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Australia
    Nice...sounds good :thumbup:

    Looks like a nice cpu,low volts
     
  11. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,402
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Does cpuz read correct volts now?

    :)
     
  12. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh I thought it was,Ive not got platform just yet to know
     
  13. Pursuit

    Pursuit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Yes it does read correctly, as you can see from my Hwinfo vcore volts, its exactly the same.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. mils1

    mils1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,027
    For me it is 1.36v, that is after extensive testing.
     
  15. mils1

    mils1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,027
    Why is your ram so cold, where is your cpu temps? Your results dont make sense.
     
  16. Pursuit

    Pursuit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    My ram is not that cold, 25 degrees is normal ambient temperature, plus I have a memory cooler blowing air onto them, so that keeps them cool as well.

    What results don't make sense ?
     
  17. mils1

    mils1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,027
    Low volts & no cpu temp? Do a benchmark so we can see your min max cpu temps. You are cooking some peoples heads, it sounds too good to be true, like next level unicorn shit.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2017
    headin2001 likes this.
  18. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,393
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    For me, quite a few have been benchable for testing below 1.3v bios, some down to 1.25v bios which is about 1.28v real.

    Best one of mine which just sold was 1.27v Bios Linpack stable, and that's crazy tough.

    Pretty sure the other I have here needed a bit more, and runs a bit hotter than that one.

    Still looking for a mythical unicorn myself.

    I've noticed it's a bit off to be honest. Software isn't reading correctly on my Apex vs using a DMM, and the voltage float in software is pretty crazy.
     
  19. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,319
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Mystical Unicorns are a fairy tale :leet: They don't exist. But hey look the screenshot below. If you did have a Unicorn ultimate 8700K would you run 100% Thermal limits
    for the benchmark to complete ... that's no way to treat the Unicorn :tongue:. But hey turn off MONITORING so no one can see the flogging it's being dealt.

    Remember kids if you are playing @ home to turn your cpu volt's down with your Asus app to pretty it for that special screenshot.
    I'm thinking like headin here. Good 8700K will bench like 1.28v on 50x multi


     
  20. kiwimeat

    kiwimeat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    So I have my CPU, motherboard and cooler ordered.
    I need to select my memory. I plan to install 64GB in the system ultimately but may well start with 32GB (2x16GB).
    I plan to do some conservative overclocking - same as my current i3770K system.

    Any recommendations for memory?
    Is 3000MHz enough or should I go for 3200MHz?
    Corsair seems the most readily available.
    My cooler is the Noctua NH-D15 which often has issues with ram clearance especially if large heatsinks are fitted but I have the Coolermaster Cosmos II case so there is plenty of room to offset the fan.
    Also trying to stick to QVL listed items.

    Current leading contender is Corsair 32GB (2x16GB) CMU32GX4M2C3200C16R DDR4 3200MHz Red LED which is $545 from Umart and on the QVL.
    The 3000MHz LPX modules are very similar price.

    Any thoughts?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: