Coffee Lake 6 core, this August with z370 chipsets?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by AbRASiON, Apr 26, 2017.

  1. Hooti3

    Hooti3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714
    Location:
    Sydney (Liverpool Area)
    The board has been fantastic. Doesn't take long to boot with a NVME ssd.
     
  2. isaakk

    isaakk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    7315
    Well, my 8700k is not a happy-chappy. 1.34v in BIOS for 4.8GHz with LLC on Turbo, temps of around 80deg - no really wanting to push vcore any higher. (Cine run)

    Between the 6700k, 7700k, and 8700k chips i've had, all have been mediocre clockers so am a little fed up. I reckon i'll just bite the bullet now and wait for SiliconLottery to have some binned chips available.
     
  3. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Don't be so hasty my man. I'll happily re-check for you before you spend up big. That can be a bios setting or 2.
    LLC will drive up the volts needed overboard. I'd expect most 8700K should hit 5Ghz.

    A phone call even to get you going better OK. pm away
     
    aussie-revhead likes this.
  4. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,392
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Delid isaakk and test again.

    Surely 4.8 is fast enough in reality but yes 5ghz sounds better (specially when so many others are getting that).

    :)
     
  5. sanjeevlives

    sanjeevlives Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,803
    Location:
    Perth

    get headin to delid man - close to lock for 5ghz - i had him do 2 which were both average clockers and turned out both hit 5ghz with 1.35 or less
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2017
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    144,550
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Ram going crazy, my 32G of trident z ram has gone up $80 in the last week or so.
     
  7. isaakk

    isaakk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    7315
    Yep, definitely delidding, that's a certainty - was going to wait for the tool as I have CLU spare but it's probably worth sending it off to Headin. Followed dino's guide for the initial settings and can't get close to 5GHz even pushing the vcore up. Expected the need to delid, but thought it would at least do better without in the interim - if anyone has suggestions i'm all ears.

    Heck, i'd be down sending it to someone willing to bench it just to make sure i'm not doing something silly.
     
  8. mils1

    mils1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    A delid will do wonders, 5GHz no problem. LLC needs to be set so volts don't drop or rise & stay steady under load.
     
  9. sanjeevlives

    sanjeevlives Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,803
    Location:
    Perth
    yeah whatever the equivalent for gigabyte bios llc setting is for Asus llc6 is what id be trying first
     
  10. warcraft

    warcraft Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    SA
    Those SilLot cpus look a bit crap to me , hes running them all with -2 offset ......... so your paying 999 for a cpu that runs @ 5.1 with a vcore of 1.437 .....
     
  11. sanjeevlives

    sanjeevlives Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,803
    Location:
    Perth
    yeah im sure headin can add based on his bigger sample size but id expect 90% of delidded 8700ks to be able to run 5.1 @ 1.437 and -2 avx offset
     
  12. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,382
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Quick Facts from my Delids. (thanks to those that send to me to service and test). I don't check all of them before as time is a struggle, but usually try a quick after test to make sure I've relidded correctly, not one dud yet.

    Most CPUs for me are running a 1.365VID on my APEX, all bios voltages, LLC6. I am still trying to find a more accurate way to get a VID measure on this board (the auto base OC it does throws the measure out).

    Of the 8700k's:
    1 - Struggled to do 5ghz before delid. Would bench to 5GHz with no AVX but die in XTU up to 1.4v
    Delid, ran 5GHz no problem at all at 1.33v for daily, no more unless over 1.4v. (L729C249)
    4 - 5.1G daily around 1.4v. (L730C305, L729C249)
    1 - 5.2G daily @ 1.4v (L733C299)
    1 - Can pass 5.3G with AVX load to bench. 5.2 G daily under 1.4v. Not checked by myself but confirmed. (L730C305)
    2 - 1.120VID looks to be 5.2G daily at or under 1.4v bios too, but hotter than the other 5.2g cpus. Needed cold water to pass XTU bench at 5.3G 1.45v. (L730C305 and L729C249)
    1 - 1.04VID I didn't spend much time with, but a cracker and hope the owner is a happy chappy. 5.3G pass XTU Bench at 1.4v, didn't test lower, didn't test higher (wish I had) (L733C329).

    Early batches vs Latest batches aren't showing anything yet really, with the L729C329 showing a spread from a struggle 5G daily to a pretty good 5.2G daily chip.

    Have another today I just bought to check out when I can (L630C393). Busy week ahead.

    The one I recently sold was solid for 5.2G, and AVX intensive was 5.1G max without the heat and voltage tradeoff. Way I look at it though is not many people will be running that speed on AVX as normal use just doesn't require it....well......unless you are doing intensive X265 AVX Encoding, which the trade off for heat vs time to complete isn't worth it.

    -1 or -2 AVX from SL just lets them bin more to suit the 99% of buyers, not the 1% that want the extra AVX speed. It also allows for more reasonable voltages for longevity. I get why the tested that. You test 100 CPUs at a time, you need a methodology that covers the spectrum. My testing took a day for one CPU alone.

    I think you would be very unlucky to have a 8700k that wont pass 5GHz after delid. Either that, or the board you are using has a junk power delivery, or it's another problem that holds it back.
     
  13. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Not a fan of anything < Negative AVX > bios

    Bullshit way of cheating a benchmark because otherwise you cannot pass. 5.0Ghz > 4.9Ghz
     
    aussie-revhead likes this.
  14. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,382
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Its not about cheating Shane, it's about lowering a hugely extensive Instruction Set, and still allowing a CPU to function at a higher speed than this handycaps it.

    I test my own for XTU Bench capabilities, but for daily use, it's just not necessary.
     
  15. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    It's a feature implemented in the bios by who? Motherboard manufacturers / Intel

    Simply state I am not a fan full stop. If you cannot pass on a multi then that should be the end of it.
    It's a way to circumnavigate " that heavy " AVX instruction :tongue:

    A 5Ghz pass could be earned. Another chap does 4.9Ghz -1 AVX & a pass. Then another does 4.8Ghz -2 AVX & a pass. WOW so fantastic your powerful beast. :rolleyes:
    _________

    Keep it real guys ... not meant to be easy - easier
     
  16. Dingostolemyghz

    Dingostolemyghz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    762
    Personally, I set my AVX offset based on heat output. (7700k)
    Running 8K FFTs on older non-AVX Prime95 to get the control temps, then ran newer Prime95 which uses AVX and compared temps, adjusted offset to match.
    Off the top of my head, pretty sure I ended up with a -3 offset, might've been -4.
    I'm not really that fussed at all tbh, I don't think any of my day to day usage even runs AVX instruction set.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2017
  17. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Not really the point. Way it is used to show a processor more powerful than another. Looking @ those scores on HWbot a long while now.
    Scores all in row doing eg 51 multi then x1 in there doing 54x.

    There is a point to NEG avx setting in a bios. We are so used to a computer that makes things easier for us. Coffeelake can get to 5Ghz on it's own
    FuKK all you have to do is press the power button basically. XPOWER MSI boards have auto OC buttons/ dials ... boom x49 shit easy.

    That modern OC has been made easy. Why :confused: So a novice can OC like a champion.
    That drives up sales because all say man I hit 5Ghz on the Coffeelake is my example
     
  18. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,392
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Im a bit like this too, no use saying it passed XTU at 5.2ghz with -3 offset .... not if your testing XTU anyway.

    :Pirate:
     
  19. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,382
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    It's shows though if you do. The max clock will only be the offset.

    XTU stresstest doesn't have AVX though I think. Didn't take a huge amount of notice.
     
  20. Pursuit

    Pursuit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Headin here is Cinebench with no aircon running. My ambient temperature is 26 degrees with the aircon off. I have included my memory timings to show I am running at XMP. The only thing I changed is the Command Rate to 1 in the bios, all other timings are on auto in the bios. As you can see my water temp is now at 26 degrees. My cpu is not delidded.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: