Command & Conquer ?

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by vladtepes, May 8, 2017.

  1. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Many of the sims / building type RTS games these days are just too complex to engage me.

    I really enjoyed the C&C series back in the day.

    Is it possible to get these still, and playable on Windows 10 ?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2017
    rthy likes this.
  2. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    C&C was NOT a sim/building game

    there ae plenty of good sim games,

    Transport Fever
    Tropico 5 and 4
    cities skylines
    sim city 4
     
  3. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    OK so I am clearly using the wrong terminology. What genre would C&C be called?

    That aside, it's C&C I want :)
     
  4. whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9,209
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Last edited: May 8, 2017
  5. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,495
    Location:
    Melbourne
  6. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
  7. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,709
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yes, we play C&C at our lans, most have Win10.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Thank you !
     
  9. damo13579

    damo13579 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    Tas
    Statitica and l_ QuadX_l like this.
  10. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
  11. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,510
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Now that takes me back.
    Made by Auran in Brisbane in the late 90's, back when we kept game dev talent still onshore.

    I used to know Greg Lane through a mutual friend in my Uni days and visited the Auran offices a few times in Paddington - where Greg would talk shop about his home-built Auran Jet graphics engine which he was going to license out to other devs. Pretty leading edge stuff at the time. They later went on to make the Trainz franchise series, etc after they moved to the new offices in New Farm. :thumbup:

    Apparently Greg left the company in 2005. What ever happened to that other secret space adventure IP you were working on in the DR days Greg?
     
  12. Soc

    Soc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    929
    Dark reign2 was great. I went to the release of it in Melbourne, met the Devs. I've got a pandemic studios business card at home somewhere.
     
  13. therazza

    therazza Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,412
    rthy likes this.
  14. Optimus.

    Optimus. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,402
    I recall the one you're talking about, interesting previews in the AU game mags at the time... I think they put all their eggs in to the Fury basket (against WoW) and it didn't work out very well.
     
  15. rickbishop

    rickbishop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,692
    Location:
    Petrie, QLD
    l_ QuadX_l likes this.
  16. Optimus.

    Optimus. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,402
    Don't you mean EA who set the steam prices in an effort to sell stuff they give for free on their own platform?
     
  17. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,510
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Steam doesn't set prices, the publisher does.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    I've never used Origin.... any dramas / complications with it?
     
  19. whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9,209
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Not really a part from now just having ANOTHER library. :rolleyes:

    Sure it's no steam but it aint BAD
     
  20. Pinkeh

    Pinkeh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,153
    Location:
    Sydney
    You can check if the origin subscription lets u into some of the older C&C or similar RTS games. Might be cheaper than buying all the titles
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: