Compaq Presario 425: The 486 all-in-one

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade Worklogs' started by Pierre32, Nov 3, 2019.

1. Pierre32

Pierre32 New Member

This is my pickup from the Yarra Valley auction last month. A Presario 425 in stock spec, with 486SX25 CPU and 4MB soldered RAM. It has integrated Cirrus Logic 512k video, and no sound card. CPU and RAM are upgradeable. More info in this old review:

https://www.atarimagazines.com/compute/issue167/99_Compaq_Presario_425.php

I bought it from interstate based on a single photo on the auction site, with no idea if it worked or even had internals. A bit of a risky bid! A couple of nervous weeks would pass before I could find out how big the mistake was.

(Note: I'm a newbie, so I can't use the OCAU image uploader yet. Using ImgBB for now because it lets me use thumbnails, and I will rehost them when I'm a grownup. The machine is a bit of an oddity, so I'll post plenty of pics across multiple posts.)

The original, and only listing photo. Covered in stickers, muck and mystery.

[​IMG]

The first unboxing. I really wish I'd taken more pics of the top and rear of the case, which was pretty ugly. But look to the right here and you'll see some kind of drippy treacle mess...

[​IMG]

Of course I had to brazenly jump into powering it up without investigating the insides first. And power up it did, loading straight into Windows 3.1. Clearly an old office PC, it was loaded with all sorts of boring things including the Novell Perfect Office suite. And running like a dog thanks to all the bloat.

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

But it did all look stunning on the little CRT. It would have been such a cool unit back in the day, even if underpowered for the time. It gave me a similar feeling to the Macs and Amigas that I lusted after at the time, when I was stuck in an old XT-powered DOS prompt. But funnily enough, that's where we're taking this thing next.