Consolidated Business & Enterprise Computing Rant Thread

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by elvis, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,155
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    LOL needed a laugh to start the day.
     
  2. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,576
    Location:
    Canberra
    isn't it time for your nap?
     
    shredder likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    36,242
    Location:
    Brisbane
    At this point in time, I genuinely feel like Windows and BSD are the only ones getting DNS right.

    macOS and Linux appear to have gone off the rails in that regard. I hope they can both put dogma aside and correct themselves.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
  4. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,155
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    get off my grass...

    I was LOLing because it is 2018 and not 1988, surely resolving DNS should already be a thing in ALL modern OS?

    PS -
    Today I build a debian img for Pi3 that is PXE and lives 100% in memory, fun times.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
  5. samus

    samus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,231
    Location:
    Baulkham Hills, Sydney.
    Day 3 - Still floppy. I know we get nostalgic at times, especially when I watch Phil's Youtube channel, but damn, these things are so slow. I thought, maybe a few hours at best, no chance, this is day 3.
     
    millsy_c and GumbyNoTalent like this.
  6. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    36,242
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I assumed so. I was wrong.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    36,242
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I like old computers, but not old storage. My nostalgia ends there, and I retrofit most of my old stuff with much more modern (and much faster) storage and IO whenever I can.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
    samus likes this.
  8. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,155
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Scenario.

    Device uses MicroSD and fails to boot GRUB because SD issue.
    Device will PXE boot without SD.
    SD cannot be removed and replaced.

    What to use to map bad sector?

    Device is Pi3, but it lives inside of casing that cannot ever be reopened.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    36,242
    Location:
    Brisbane
    * Is the entire SD faulty, or is it just a bad sector?
    * If just a few sectors, can you move the partition boundaries around to avoid the bad sector?
    * Can you boot from USB? (Sounds like maybe this thing is sealed up for dust/water/environment reasons? I'm assuming you can't get to USB ports, although it sounds like you've got network)

    Newer Pi PXE booting makes me happy, because I have some chance to customise things better now at install time. Getting BtrFS on a Pi, for example, was a huge pain in the arse previously (both CoW and zstd compression on a slow/small SD card makes a world of difference for performance, space, and when people yank the power cable on a Pi). The "solution" was to spin your own image, which irked me when all I want is install-time customisations on a case-by-case basis, rather than someone else's pre-baked image with all of their unique needs.
     
    GumbyNoTalent likes this.
  10. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,155
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Pi 3+

    SD is not dead, just preparing a HowTo as the product has to be 10 years lived, and need to cover the scenario of SD with bad sectors.

    Device is either PXE booted or stand alone boot of SD.

    So far I have the memory footprint down to 36MB.

    Code:
                  total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
    Mem:           927M         36M        797M         11M         92M        830M
    Swap:           99M          0B         99M
    
    That is with all code running.

    PS - Sensor array is publishing MQTT metrics 30 times a sec.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
  11. person

    person Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If this is still in the design/build phase - is there an option to use an industrial grade SD card (if not already)?
     
  12. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,155
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    The Pi's are brought in bulk from UK (official manufacture) and come with Raspberry Pi branded SD that according to supplier is "industrial quality", is what I have been told by the people making the hardware.
     
  13. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    24,582
    My current workplace is finding that out now.
    The it staff have all been there a number of years and haven't really ever worked anywhere else.
    Me and one other have come into the place in the last year and the others are suddenly becoming aware that the way they do some things is slow and inefficient.
    The amount of manual tasks in this place is staggering.

    Thankfully the other person who started last year is in a management position so is able to effect some changes.
    We're very similarly minded about how to do certain things so we're both open to each other's suggestions.
    The others are open to change, you can sense it from them, they've just never had anyone tell them how something could be changed for the better.

    It's a good feeling because it's like we've come in to a business that is on the cusp of becoming something bigger and better than it is and we get to play a part in that.
     
  14. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,224
    Challenge accepted.

    How much are you writing to the SD Card?
     
  15. chip

    chip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Pooraka Maccas drivethrough
  16. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,155
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Never during operation, SD will be read only FS if mounted.

    Only during config will some params be written to the SD along with the img files and grub. (several times for each, multipule partitions)

    Recovery scenario is foobar MBR or GRUB, device should default PXE if either is foobar. Only time is issue if in standalone as no PXE server will exist.
     
  17. Daemon

    Daemon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,426
    Location:
    qld.au
    So because I genuinely haven't used resolved heavily and after searching github for the issue you described (without finding anyone else complaining), I ran up a quick test environment. Rather than further ranting, I thought I'd at least use the time for productive learning.

    So two VM's, both 18.10, one as a DHCP server (specifically, isc-dhcp-server). My dhcpd config was as simple as:

    Code:
    subnet 192.168.1.122.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        range 192.168.122.10 192.168.122.20;
        option routers 192.168.122.1;
        option domain-search "test1.ocau", "test2.ocau";
        option domain-name-servers 192.168.122.1;
    }
    Restart networking on the 2nd VM to pickup the DHCP, and resolvectl shows:

    Code:
    root@resolved2:~#   resolvectl
    Global
           LLMNR setting: no
    MulticastDNS setting: no
      DNSOverTLS setting: no
          DNSSEC setting: no
        DNSSEC supported: no
      Current DNS Server: 192.168.122.1
             DNS Servers: 192.168.122.1
              DNS Domain: test1.ocau
                          test2.ocau
    
    Just to ensure it wasn't just boilerplate implementation, I threw a quick bind / zone file in and I could ping shortnames (eg ping `abc` looked up abc.test1.ocau) without issue.

    Clearly not trying to say you've done it wrong, but in a vanilla instance resolved with multiple domain searches works out of the box and as expected. Hopefully this at least gives you a starting point to compare.

    Could be the industry you're in. I'm loving things like systemd because it's solving many issues I had and certainly not seeing any more or less breakages. That's a win to me.
     
  18. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,576
    Location:
    Canberra
  19. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,224
  20. chip

    chip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Pooraka Maccas drivethrough
    Humour is very subjective, but the idea of an owning an AD DC with an RCE thanks to a malformed DNS query makes me chuckle. (yes I know proper AD security design would mitigate it but still...)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: