1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Consolidated Business & Enterprise Computing Rant Thread

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by elvis, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. bsbozzy

    bsbozzy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,925
    Location:
    Sydney
    I cant see a problem with this quote from what you posted, decent AP's are not cheap, cabling is not cheap - especially if there is no existing infrastructure, ongoing MSP costs, etc.

    More info needed.


    Mitch01 - time to start doing certifications, not for the piece of flashy paper but for the knowledge, some may scoff at them but it sounds like you need the skills. Start looking at MCSE, start with the server 2012 exam and work your way up.
     
  2. TehCamel

    TehCamel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i'm now re-reading it.

    Do they want cat6 cabling installed, AND wireless, or does the cat6 already exist and they just need wireless?

    is it possible there's a need for seamless roaming, so there's actually a proper WLC in there, or vlan trunking for voice/data, things like that ?
     
  3. Iceman

    Iceman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,647
    Location:
    Brisbane (nth), Australia
    Never underestimate the customer failing to know their requirements. They might have done something silly like specifying x number of devices in the area. "give me enough wireless for 2 phones, a laptop and a tablet per person"..
     
  4. IACSecurity

    IACSecurity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    760
    Location:
    ork.sg
    can we please have some consistency and decorum in this forum please?

    QuakeDude has clearly articulated that we require Comic Sans font., we need to ensure these robust standards are met
     
  5. Cpt Watermelon

    Cpt Watermelon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Yes. We must make sure the bits go down the pipe smoothly and don't get cluster fucked.
     
  6. thetron

    thetron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,167
    Location:
    Somewhere over the Rainbo
    We would sometimes quote 50-100k for 10 access points with 2-5 years support and 3 hour SLA. For companies like Bunzl and Carlton Brewery

    10 x ap easy $500-900
    10 x licences for a wifi controller $50-600
    10 mounts
    10 copper pigtails or lma400 @ 100 a pop
    20 x network cables 5 bucks each. Depending on how much commission sales want
    1 or 2 PoE network switches with fibre optional

    Already that figure is over 10k and not including the 150hr labour charges to install 10 access points. Also if you need a scissor lift or boom arm thats extra charge then your suddenly paying $15-20k..

    However that a cisco house

    One my customers is replacing their entire network with Ubiquiti bullets because their 100 bucks a pop and does the job
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2014
  7. thetron

    thetron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,167
    Location:
    Somewhere over the Rainbo
    I dont want todo spreadsheet. I am techican
     
  8. mooboyj

    mooboyj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,074
    I decided to take a step back and read the first post that started this thread. My current boss actually exceeds everything you mentioned but unfortunately keeps way to much to himself.

    I had a great day on Friday explaining to a six figure sys admin why they were having weird and wondwful email issues. His lack of relatively basic networking concepts and how DNS/NS/zone files blah blah made me a very sad panda.

    But wait it gets better! Someone at said company didn't understand option 66 in their Cisco and commented it out :(. Hours were spent troublehooting voip issues because someone in their networking team had a fiddle :(.
     
  9. TehCamel

    TehCamel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Location:
    Melbourne
    heh.. local onsite support at a Singapore client the other day..

    "ok, can you ping 192.168.bla.bla."
    "ok great how about 8.8.8.8"
    "ok. how about 192.168.bla.xyz"
    "ok can you do traceroute to 8.8.8.8"
    {i don't know this command}
    "oh, sorry, I thought Sam said she was going to put the local outsourced IT guy on the phone"
    {yes, that's me}
    "but you don't know traceroute?"
    {no, i don't know this}



    FFS. no wonder they can never fucking resolve anything.
     
  10. GreenBeret

    GreenBeret Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    19,370
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Use Vagrant (which manages virtualbox) with a config management system like puppet and version control like git and do it even faster!

    One command: vagrant up

    There's your vbox test env.

    done

    And it's all FOSS.
     
  11. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,944
    Location:
    elsewhere
    That's the one that lets you know all the IP's that are connecting to google, right?
     
  12. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,919
    also known as tracer t.


    It's a very powerful hacking tool.
     
  13. Cubix

    Cubix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Reminds me of the silicon valley ep where they hire the 'child prodigy hacker' to help them meet their deadline only to discover he was a complete fraud who accidentally brought down a network from the inside and borks everything.
     
  14. GreenBeret

    GreenBeret Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    19,370
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Which reminds me of the new Q (James Bond franchise, the one who's like an Apple hipster) who borked the entire MI6 network by putting a malicious laptop straight on the production network...
     
  15. ^catalyst

    ^catalyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    12,018
    Location:
    melbourne
    Saw that, wasn't impressed. Was the nail in the coffin for Bond movies to me lol.
     
  16. GiantGuineaPig

    GiantGuineaPig Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,027
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Doesn't Sony make James Bond films?
     
  17. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    16,313
    Location:
    Canberra
    I'm sure I saw IACsecurity throw his popcorn at the screen on that one.
    :lol:
     
  18. GreenBeret

    GreenBeret Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    19,370
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Zing! Indeed they do!
     
  19. IACSecurity

    IACSecurity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    760
    Location:
    ork.sg
    I would have written him a formal warning, and moved on to Bond's girls.
     
  20. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,678
    Twas the Day before Xmas, The Ultimate in read-only fridays.

    And here I am doing an unscheduled upgrade to enable some pretty key functionality in our AV solution...

    Hooray.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: