Consolidated Xeon E5-2670 Thread (The now $100 8-Core LGA2011 CPU) NO LISTING SALES!

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by sonicthemouse, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. OP
    OP
    sonicthemouse

    sonicthemouse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    804
    Location:
    3207 (BH) / 3033 (AH)
    Maybe best to put up a WTB thread if you're buying :)
     
  2. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,630
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    Haha, don't flatter yourself dude, your offers are in the for sale thread for all to see.........

    I reckon if you put a wanted ad for an X79 board for $300pp, you might have some people come out of the dark.

    Good luck
     
  3. Tommo_Aus

    Tommo_Aus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ty, can anyone else confirm?
     
  4. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,606
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Yes pc3l works.
     
  5. WallySimmonds

    WallySimmonds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Please post your experiences with the NVME drive Sonic - I'm tempted to do the same with my new system when it arrives.
     
  6. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,615
    Location:
    Canberra
    what clocks are people getting these to?

    How would it go verse my 3960x?
     
  7. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,448
    ffs, read the OP - these aren't OC'able :rolleyes:

    your 3960X will crap all over them in anything less than their c/t count, particularly games
     
  8. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,615
    Location:
    Canberra
    why do that when people like you will answer for me ;)

    I skimmed over OP but missed the locked multiplier.

    cheers
     
  9. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,928
    Location:
    Melbourne
  10. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,448
  11. OP
    OP
    sonicthemouse

    sonicthemouse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    804
    Location:
    3207 (BH) / 3033 (AH)
    Hm, didn't see that coming. There was no beautiful write-up about building an X5650 / X5670-based X58 rig when those prices started to drop, yet they could be OC'd to ~4.5ghz easily and even today they can hold their own against Skylake.

    And yeah, if any of the wholesalers still have new-old-stock of the AsRock boards, particularly the one mentioned in the article, they'll be laughing all the way to the bank :rolleyes:
     
  12. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,654
    Location:
    ACT 2913
  13. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,564
    Thank god... I bought all the dual boards.. I wanted already..:lol:
     
  14. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,928
    Location:
    Melbourne
    you could sell them all and buy a Rolls Royce and a few houses. :lol:
     
  15. Tommo_Aus

    Tommo_Aus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Heh, I think I'll be waiting a while longer!
     
  16. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,385
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I just ordered one of these and a Gigabyte x79 UP4 board, it's not going to be faster than my 4770K obviously but what I am looking to do is run a VM and pass an extra GPU through to it so my partner can VNC into the VM and do some graphics work as her MacBook is pretty crap at that.

    Hopefully it will all work :)
     
  17. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,664
    Location:
    Melbourne
    VNC is super laggy - GPU isn't going to help that as basically it captures an image of the screen and compresses it for each frame. RDP is slightly better, but still won't be a smooth experience.
     
  18. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,385
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I have set it up on my current system just using a VMWare Windows install and using it is almost 1:1 for speed, it's just slow if I am using Unreal Engine and she is editing a video, my Fury doesn't like it too much (still faster than her Mac lol).

    The computers are all connected via Gigabit LAN so I think that helps the VNC connections. I will give RDP a go though, see if it's better....
     
  19. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,664
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The compression on RDP is much more efficient than VNC. VNC uses quite a lot of processing power just to compress the stream.

    Splashtop is really good for remote desktop streaming though.
     
  20. Sipheren

    Sipheren Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,385
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Cool, I will give them both a go. Once thing that is annoying is if you are using something like Unreal Engine in the VM through VNC, the mouse doesn't capture correctly so when you preview the game and move the mouse it can go outside the viewport and stops moving the character.

    Anyway, that's a bit off topic, I will try RDP and Splashtop. Cheers :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: