1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Consolidated Xeon E5-2670 Thread (The now $100 8-Core LGA2011 CPU) NO LISTING SALES!

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by sonicthemouse, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,787
    Do you need to install the separate AMD HDMI Audio drivers in the Windows guest or is the device just not passing through at all? I haven't used Xen but I did read a little while ago that the audio device is a separate device and doesn't come through with the GPU. Once both devices are passed through a Windows guest will find it all as a single
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2016
  2. joshpond

    joshpond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Townsville
    Sorry getting off topic so I'll leave it at this. I've got more googling to do.

    It is a seperate device which I've have passthroughed. I can see it in windows and install CCC shows it as enabled. Only thing is whenever I go to test sound it says it is in use by another application. I haven't had a lot of time to dig around and find out what is going on. That is the best I could get.

    Other times and other passthrough methods (doing it manually) it wont start due to an error code.

    Josh
     
  3. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    Do you guys think it's overkill to watercool these puppies ?

    I already have the water gear and the case to fit the board and it was cheaper to buy 1 extra waterblock for the loop than it was to go back to air...
     
  4. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,307
    I don't see why not! :)
     
  5. Peromaniac

    Peromaniac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Melb, 3094
    Do it!!! And make sure to use the high quality toilet paper to check for stains..[emoji14]
     
  6. Dienk

    Dienk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Guys,

    Which temperature do you get in your cpu?

    I have just installed a Corsair H60 and there is a big difference between the cores. At idle the coldest core is 32 degrees celsius (8th core) while the hottest 6th core is 44 degrees. The others around 34 and 38 degrees. Is it normal?

    By the way, in full load the hottest core was at 75 degrees! What do you think? I would like to compare to yours! Thank you!
     
  7. Peromaniac

    Peromaniac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Melb, 3094
    Doesn't sound right mate. I'd check to see if you mounted your block right.. Might be a bit loose on one side.

    My temps are fairly consistent, 30C idle and 55C load on one CPU. 35C idle and 60C load on the other CPU.
     
  8. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,339
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073


    Well if it's cheaper then it's not overkill
     
  9. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6,069
    Location:
    Melbourne
    These are dual 8-core CPUs. They are begging for water. :thumbup:
     
  10. zenki

    zenki Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Anyone bought from taobao before?
    Is it easy or you need to know chinese?
    Any recommendation or guides on how to buy there?
     
  11. whateva

    whateva Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Was looking to build a rig for VMs and saw this thread. Initially was happy that it was cheap for the CPU, then saw the mobo prices and scarcity :(
     
  12. HobartTas

    HobartTas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,146
    Given they are only 115 watts TDP and can't be overclocked there's not much point going past a good tower cooler for it.
     
  13. yanman

    yanman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    6,609
    Location:
    Hobart
    I'm still torn over the going one of these vs a 5820k/X99 build :( (given up on the idea of dual socket.. just isn't practical for me at the moment as much as I want to convince myself for the fun-factor!)

    I understand I can get all the new shiny features of the X99 with addon cards in an X79 board but still... and I worry that the single-thread speed of the 2670 is going to hold me back.
     
  14. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6,069
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not if you already have the WC gear. Why spend money on tower coolers?
     
  15. zenki

    zenki Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Any idea what to do if the motherboard doesn't have the i/o panel (back plate)?
    Just fit the motherboard to the case without it?
    Will that cause any issue?
     
  16. joshpond

    joshpond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Townsville
    What motherboard? Shouldn't cause issues except maybe more dust?
    Josh
     
  17. TripleJ85

    TripleJ85 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Fine to install without the plate - just be careful when using the ports..
    You may be able to source one elsewhere..
     
  18. Brangas

    Brangas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Purchased my cpu from the ebay hwtrade-e people on the 28th of April and got here today with the cheap shipping, pretty quick.
    Now the fun part of getting it going
     
  19. Dienk

    Dienk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Thank you, it should be installed wrong. I will fix.

    By the way, review about this CPU:

    http://www.hardwareunboxed.com/best-cpu-deal-ever-75-8-core-xeon/

    For gaming...is a bit weak :mad:
     
  20. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    I'll be selling a board on here in about a week or so when my 2 new boards arrive i'll have a spare ( got an extra incase of DOA )

    I'll post in here a link to the sale thread when it's here

    true. $100 each, so $200 for 2 Noctua towers vs $100 for 1 more waterblock...

    Here's a sneak preview of my build...


    Click to view full size!


    note: a SSi/EEB motherboard will fit in a Fractal Design XLR2 case ( this case is prime for water cooling as well as it's got brilliant sound dampening ) It's not stated on the web, because it only has 1 standoff screw that doesn't line up. but the 10 or so fit perfectly
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2016

Share This Page

Advertisement: