Core i9: First CPU said to be 6-core Gulftown..

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    [​IMG]

    http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,688273/Core-i9-First-CPU-said-to-be-6-core-Gulftown/News/
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2009
  2. Frenchlick

    Frenchlick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    Perth
    I imagine they won't come too cheap. Good that they will work on X58 boards though.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    It is expected to replace current Core i7 extreme edition processors.
     
  4. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Dam future is looking expensive for me... this and Pentax K-7 DSLR i have my eye on :D
     
  5. booj

    booj Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Adelaide
    More L2 cache would be nice, or at least lower latency L3.

    oh yeah and 6ghz benchable on extreme cooling heheh
     
  6. stablez

    stablez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,038
    Location:
    Humidycrib
    What a major move. A big push from intel.
    Wonder when AMD go 6 core as they can do tri?
    Good news...;)
     
  7. BlackSniper87

    BlackSniper87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,848
    Location:
    Hamilton, Brisbane
    Good news for intel, but unfortunately bad news for competition.
     
  8. Lardman

    Lardman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,277
    Location:
    ACT 2607
    What? How?

    There's something very restricting about the whole platform: money.
    I highly doubt this would impact Intel's main competitors because this market is already one Intel have dominance in.

    In servers and enterprise markets however, we may see things change.
     
  9. Partha

    Partha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,267
  10. A_C

    A_C Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,667
    Location:
    5000
    What would be a safe price estimate for one of these?
     
  11. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,752
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    Compatability with LGA1366 and X58 would be a huge plus, gives us current i7 owners a potential upgrade path. Just so long as there's not some annoying artificial limitation that stops upgrading.
     
  12. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,043
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    its a pity they are not considering the 8 core Nehelam-EX

    6 cores isnt really usable at the moment, because software is written for powers of 2 or somthing like that. only 4 cores get used.

    there was some tests done with the opteron 6 core chips a little while back

    http://it.anandtech.com/IT/showdoc.aspx?i=3571&p=8

    Edit; 6 cores isnt really usuable for CG stuff..for DB it seems all good
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
  13. WinterKnights

    WinterKnights Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    995
    Location:
    Australia, Victoria, Warrnambool, 3280
    im way out of the loop with computer tech now and i havnt played around with it much (game on xbox rather than pc now)

    whats this i9?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Guess they want to keep the 6 core stuff for enthusiasts and keep the 8 cores for the server market.

    Have you heard of the Core i7? if so the supposedly called Core i9 will be a higher end processor but still on the same socket.
     
  15. Shadow_n

    Shadow_n Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Does this help?

    [​IMG]
     
  16. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,831
    Location:
    Canberra
    I don't think that AMD will care. If people want a top-end system, they already buy Intel (Core i7). If they're on a budget then they consider AMD instead. Core i9 isn't likely to affect this situation at all.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Yah it should help, was going to post that table, but wasn't sure of the accuracy of the Core i3 range and if they were going to rename it all or just phase the old processors out.

    Plust most of the Q1 2010 dates have been moved up to this year.
     
  18. Shadow_n

    Shadow_n Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Its always a good place to start.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    No doubt :D
     
  20. $3@N

    $3@N (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,985
    Location:
    Forever A Pwn
    yay another whole half a year until my i7 is outdated!

    6 core... eww i would rather wait till oct.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: