Corsair H100i not cooling

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by EvilGenius, Mar 19, 2020.

  1. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,533
    Location:
    elsewhere
    Hi guys,

    Setting up some older hardware for a family member, it used to be my main rig and after my uncles machine caught fire I figured this was a good way to clear some space. All was in working condition and was my daily runner before I upgraded.

    System is asus x79 deluxe with i7 4820 running stock.

    I've fitted the h100i, cleaned and with arctic ceramique TIM. I've washed the crud out of fins of the res and there don't appear to be any leaks in the system. Just at idle in bios, temps start out 30s-40s and over the next couple of minutes climb up to the 80's before I shut it off.

    I can feel one water pipe getting quite hot and the other feels cold, so that to me indicates circulation. Several times now I've demounted the cooling plate/pump and it looks to have achieved a good spread on the TIM.

    Can anyone think of what I might not be doing here? Is it possible there's not enough water in the system despite the hot/cold pipes?

    Pic for idiot checking the installation...

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Doughboy

    Doughboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Perth - WA
    Is the CPU cooling part seated correctly?

    Might be the pic, but it kinda looks like it is tilted at the top
     
  3. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,362
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Can you feel any vibration from the pump to say if it is running or not?
     
  4. d1ng0d4n

    d1ng0d4n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,282
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Check iCue/Corsair Link. It'll tell you if the pumps doing anything. I suspect it's a dead pump.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,533
    Location:
    elsewhere
    Just started it up again to try and get iCue on, damn thing is holding in the 40's now.. I think you're right about the pump. It must have been stuck from prolonged disuse. Now wondering if I should rip it out regardless... I don't really have anything else. Urgh.
     
  6. Dannyboi

    Dannyboi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Mt Larcom
    See where the tubes go in? Make sure its not hitting / fouling the motherboard capacitors. And yeah first thing is check pump..
     
  7. OP
    OP
    EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,533
    Location:
    elsewhere
    Sigh. Found out the usb header it was plugged into was dead too. Plugged it into a different one, software took over and now the pump is making a rattling/grinding noise. Looks like the uncle is up for a new cpu cooler.


     
  8. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,726
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    the rattling may just be trapped air.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,533
    Location:
    elsewhere
    With any luck it'll sort itself out then. I dropped it off to him rattle in tact and told him if it craps itself he needs to pony up $60 for a new cooler.
     
    terrastrife likes this.
  10. Leigh M

    Leigh M Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,402
    As long as it's pumping now and cooling that noise doesn't seem too bad
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: