CPU performances Macbook Pro 2016 vs current

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by drunkntigr, Nov 7, 2018 at 11:37 PM.

  1. drunkntigr

    drunkntigr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,451
    Location:
    MELB
    Need to get a mac laptop so can run off 4k screen whilst being portable. Need a bigger screen so going 15"

    Spending $2400 on a new 2016 macbook 15" with the 6700HQ cpu - or should I just buy a new 13" version 2018 for $2200? The quadcore i5 apparently performs better, but the onboard iris 655 won't be as good as the radeon 450 - albeit marginal.

    How slow really is the 6700HQ? Only really use chrome, photoshop and youtube/netflix.

    I've been running a 6600k on my desktop and it seems fines - yes I know it will probably beat both the newer i5 on the 2018 macbook touchbar and the 6700hq
     
  2. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,250
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    6700hq is the same skylake core as the new models, (i7 quad cores) it's a bit less efficient , but is TDP @35w vs iirc 15 on new models.

    you're looking at a dual core (i5) 13" - the 6700hq would be much faster in this instance
     
  3. [KEi]SoVeReIgN

    [KEi]SoVeReIgN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,137
    Location:
    Sydney
    Buy an eGPU and attach your screen.

    Portable web browser when you’re mobile and grunt at your desk.

    I just picked up a Razer Core X and RX580, both fully supported by MacOS
     
  4. OP
    OP
    drunkntigr

    drunkntigr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,451
    Location:
    MELB
    Don't use it for gaming at all. Really just after a bigger 15" screen for a laptop and mac os. I find I'm more productive on mac than windows as get so distracted by the clutter. Mac OS seems to limit multitasking which often causes distraction
     
  5. [KEi]SoVeReIgN

    [KEi]SoVeReIgN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,137
    Location:
    Sydney
    Reality is for 90% of what you do you don't really need the GPU grunt, although some functions in Photoshop will be sped up with the Radeon.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    drunkntigr

    drunkntigr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,451
    Location:
    MELB
    Don't game at all now. Just wanted the 15" screen as more comfortable than 13 and 12 inch. After changing to 32" 4k, I find the 14" on my T470 is just a bit too small.
     

Share This Page