Crashplan abandons Home Market

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by kiwimeat, Aug 23, 2017.

  1. psychobunny

    psychobunny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,392
    Location:
    Melbournish 3750
    anyone else having issues connecting to the Aus based backup destination? I was thinking of switching to their business plans but if that means no Aus based destinations its gonna suck
     
  2. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,668
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Home is still connecting to their aus servers for me. I don't think they would remove that for business.
     
  3. grs1961

    grs1961 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    513
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I switched to the Business Plan - connecting to (nominally) Oz-based servers:
    cdb-syd.crashplan.com​
    ada-syd.crashplan.com​

    Ping rates look like they're in Sinney (I'm in Melbin):
    $ ping -s cdb-syd.crashplan.com
    PING cdb-syd.crashplan.com: 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.106: icmp_seq=0. time=32.869 ms
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.106: icmp_seq=1. time=32.057 ms
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.106: icmp_seq=2. time=70.332 ms
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.106: icmp_seq=3. time=32.894 ms
    ^C
    ----cdb-syd.crashplan.com PING Statistics----
    4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip (ms) min/avg/max/stddev = 32.057/42.038/70.332/18.867
    $ ping -s ada-syd.crashplan.com
    PING ada-syd.crashplan.com: 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.144: icmp_seq=0. time=139.017 ms
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.144: icmp_seq=1. time=33.893 ms
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.144: icmp_seq=2. time=82.292 ms
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.144: icmp_seq=3. time=32.885 ms
    64 bytes from 103.8.239.144: icmp_seq=4. time=32.845 ms
    ^C
    ----ada-syd.crashplan.com PING Statistics----
    5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip (ms) min/avg/max/stddev = 32.845/64.186/139.017/46.923
     
  4. psychobunny

    psychobunny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,392
    Location:
    Melbournish 3750
    Mine is stuck trying to connect to eca-syd.crashplan.com which when pinging from local or web based ping i get 100% packet loss
     
  5. psychobunny

    psychobunny Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,392
    Location:
    Melbournish 3750
    Turns out eca-syd.crashplan.com is offline and has been for 5 days now.... here's what support had to say when i specifically named the server and posted on their twitter:

    I really wish all cloud based service providers gave you a realtime status of their servers like Salesforce does
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  6. choppa

    choppa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,501
    Location:
    Asia-Pacific
    Can one of you guys who was on the previous service tell me what the service was? Cost structure and other details (speed/storage)?
     
  7. Skitz0

    Skitz0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    So annoyed with this change due to our business running crashplan on our primary sales pc which has 200gb of data seeded. Re-seeding it with a different cloud storage provider on a <1.5mbps upload connection is going to be painful.

    I think my only choice is to go with Crashplan business and take the $10 per month deal @ 75% off then evaluate when it expires. Atleast it gives me until 2019 to get NBN at our business so we can potentially use someone else. Its going to cost us almost double what we were paying to have our systems with crashplan business ($69.30 vs $120 per PC per year).

    It was $69.30 aud per year (full price, some people got discounts on that) with unlimited storage, ability to also backup to to a networked PC and external hdd for no extra cost. It was sensational value for money and the software works flawlessly. It also has a awesome app for access to your files from anywhere in the world with versioning going back years. It just had absolutely everything you could want from a backup system.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2017
  8. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,077
    Location:
    Perth
    How can you be annoyed at CrashPlan on stopping people using a home plan for a business?
    This is probably what a lot of people did and why they have removed the ability to have home plans now.

    The $50 a year difference for a business is probably the cheapest expess you could probably have on an annual basis.
     
  9. Skitz0

    Skitz0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I'm paying almost double for the exact same service under their new structure and I think the data I'm using is hardly excessive. I would bet there are plenty of home users pushing way more than 200gb to the crashplan servers. I also pay for another account at home and one for my parents. So they are getting excellent value out of me and I'm not really interested in paying an additional $150 per year.

    Carbonite might be the next best thing for $60 per year with unlimited storage but it doesnt backup to external HDDs in the entry level package.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2017
  10. alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,662
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'm still sore about this - all the other services are per-device.

    I have a couple of devices that dont have much data but are nice to be backed up. Like the kids gaming PCs etc...

    Oh well :-(

    I'll probablu stick with them and fall back to just backing up my two main PCs.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: