Creating a friendly Ubuntu Based Appliance

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by vellanet, Sep 11, 2020.

1. vellanet

vellanet Member

Against better judgement, management have decided we shall sell what amounts to an Ubuntu based appliance to the masses.

Basically its Ubuntu Desktop 20.04 LTS running some IP Video recording software. The people selling/buying them and using them have less than zero knowledge about how to use or maintain a linux box but it was deemed there should be a GUI so they could do it.

I'm by no means an Expertâ„¢ here but have muddled together a nice unattended ISO so we can run these boxes up quick and an out of box script to run that will at least update/upgrade the machines and download/install the latest version of the software and set up some semi sane defaults.

Where I'm coming stuck is once the machine is in the users hands, there needs to be an absolutely painless method for the users to add a HDD and format it and have it reliably mount on boot so that the video software can see it and write to it.

We initially settled on using Cockpit as its a bit nicer than than the default partition manager but now it seems they've changed their mounting so it only mounts the storage on User login rather than system boot.

Can anyone recommend a non CLI and fool proof way of managing HDD's in this manner?

Conversely does anyone know of any CLI tools or scripts that would ask the right questions and automatically format/mount storage so that is available on boot. Direct editing fstab is just a step too far for these people.

2. flu!d

flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

You can mount drives/partitions via GUI using Gnome Disks, I do it all the time when I can't be bothered with the terminal as I can't type to save myself and keep making typos.

3. OP
    OP
    vellanet

vellanet Member