Crucial m4 256 running at half read speed?

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Elv15, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. Elv15

    Elv15 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Just installed a brand new Crucial m4 256gig SSD and after testing with as ssd and hd tune pro, can only seem to get about 250mb/s seq read.

    [​IMG]

    This drive does not have my OS on it. I have upgraded the firmware to 0009 and have tried formatting the drive, including a 'secure erase' with hd tune pro to no avail.

    Specs fyi:
    Win7
    i7 920
    Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
    6gig Corsair Dominator

    Any suggestions greatly appreciated :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
  2. Dave2972

    Dave2972 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,075
    Did you plug into an Intel port or one of the other SATA III 6Gb ports?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Elv15

    Elv15 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    I wasn't aware there was an intel sata3 6Gb port? Im reading up on the ports now, but any idea which port I should be aiming for?
     
  4. DeejW

    DeejW Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    Margaret River WA
    the native intel ports, my bet is its on one of those awful marvell controllers. have a look through your manual they should be a different colour.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Elv15

    Elv15 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    it shows there being 6 blue and 4 white - the blue ones are sata2 and white sata3, but not much more info than that :(

    i did move it from the blue port to one of the white and it went upto about 380mb/sec seq read, but thats still FAR off the ~500 im looking for :(
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2011
  6. thedirkdiggler

    thedirkdiggler Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    do you need a sata 3 cable, or just one laying around?
     
  7. hairy

    hairy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    have you enabled ahci mode in bios ?
     
  8. Mudg3

    Mudg3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Your board sata 3 controller is a Marvell 9128 which is the same as mine.

    Which is Crap :p


    I've got a vertex 3 max IOPs and I get extremely bad speeds like the ones you posted. Not noticeable in real life though.
    As its been posted make sure AHCI is enabled but theirs not much else you can do.

    You'll just have to deal with it or move to another platform thats not X58 as all X58 boards that have sata 3 seem to all be Marvell controllers.
     
  9. ysu

    ysu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    Central Coast
    I've a mobo with a marvel sata3 controller as well, and a 128GB crucial drive I've just bought recently. If I use the marvel sata3 interface, I'm getting hangups. No kidding, everything grinds to a halt regularly. And the 4K write speed is abysmal.

    I have to use the intel controller, which is sata2.
    The marvel controller is a POS. It's a marvel they still allow it to be put on mobos - hence the name :)
     
  10. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,722
    Be grateful you aren't getting bluescreens and loosing your boot drive, that's what would happen if you had a Vertex 3 connected to the Marvel controller....
     
  11. FromPaul

    FromPaul Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    Sydney
    been there, had that :)
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Elv15

    Elv15 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    wow, thanks for all the feedback guys :)

    yep, got ahci enabled and currently running it off a intel controller and feared thats the best speeds im going to get, but hey, it'll b fine till i upgrade next time :)
     
  13. Mudg3

    Mudg3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So have you tried your Sata 3 port at all?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Elv15

    Elv15 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    yea, maxing out around 380mb/sec seq read.
     
  15. zdream

    zdream Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,970
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I was only getting 220 mb/s using the shitty Marvell controller. Moved to sata II intel and got this

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full size!
     
  16. ysu

    ysu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    Central Coast
    I think your intel conroller maybe a sata3.
    Sata2 spec only gives you a top 3Gbit/s transfer rate, and that's about 384MB/s if I'm correct. Taking other shit into account (overheads) you should get far less.
     
  17. sub.mesa

    sub.mesa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Europe
    SATA 3.0 = SATA 6Gbps = SATA/600 = 600MB/s raw bandwidth = ~550MB/s max throughput
    SATA 2.0 = SATA 3Gbps = SATA/300 = 300MB/s raw bandwidth = ~275MB/s max throughput
    SATA 1.0 = SATA 1,5Gbps = SATA/150 = 150MB/s raw bandwidth = ~135MB/s max throughput

    3,0Gbps equals 300MB/s because SATA like PCI-express 1 and 2 uses a 8/10-bit encoding scheme, causing you to have to divide with 10 instead of with 8 when converting bits to bytes. You can read the wikipedia article on 8/10-bit encoding for more information.

    If your AS SSD shows more than 300MB/s, you are not running SATA 3Gbps (300Mb/s) but rather 6Gbps (600MB/s).
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: