Crucial M4 failed

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by MadcatDJ, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. MadcatDJ

    MadcatDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    Hey guys, Ive had a 128gb M4 fail on me, not showing up in BIOS, wont boot from it and doesnt show up when I put it in a USB dock at all.

    Anyone got any tricks or hints to get it working or get the files off before I RMA it? Nothing important that I haven't got a backup of, just wouldn't mind being able to grab the files (game saves, profiles, app settings, random files etc) or make a clone of the drive before sending off
     
  2. death

    death Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,539
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
  3. noober69

    noober69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    well seeing as you have tried different connections, I would try the trick of putting it in the freezer. It may be that a crack has opened in a circuit and this may temporarily fix it, otherwise I have no other ideas.
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    64,875
    Location:
    brisbane
  5. OP
    OP
    MadcatDJ

    MadcatDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    Yup Ive tried it in 2 different pcs, with different sata chips, cords, psu etc. Tried in 2 different usb docks as well. Firmware was up to date

    Might look up that freezer trick
     
  6. tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    I thought freezer trick only applied to HDDs? :confused:
     
  7. O-B-E-L-I-X

    O-B-E-L-I-X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    967
    Location:
    SYD, 2036
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014
  8. OP
    OP
    MadcatDJ

    MadcatDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    i cant remember which bios the drive is on, I did update it with the 0009 firmware when the bsod bug first came to light (never happened to me as I was nowhere near 5000 hours) and then again in 2012, but no idea which firmware it was, just the latest at the time

    I looked up freezing the hdd and it looks like its a hdd fix, not ssd.

    Thanks Obelix, will let you know how the power cycling goes
     
  9. glasswindow

    glasswindow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    31
  10. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    it can work on both, but due to different reasons.

    rather than unsticking drive heads it can sometimes effect a connection along a trace that is damaged (at least until it warms up again).
     
  11. OP
    OP
    MadcatDJ

    MadcatDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    No luck so will send it in. Thanks for the help guys
     
  12. aza2001

    aza2001 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Northmead
    I had a similar problem for a while with one of the firmwares.

    I had to leave the computer/ dock on for about 10-15min, then reboot, next thing its detected and works fine...


    latest firmware seemed to have resolve that issue
     
  13. pepsimax

    pepsimax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,897
    Location:
    The Shire
    yeah i had a similer problem with my 256gb m4's.

    then one day just before starting the RMA process, I tried to see if was going to work again then magically it worked again.

    I heard something that it needs a power cycle to reset the settings or something of the controller
     
  14. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,490
    Can you expand on how it would help with an SSD?
     
  15. stebie

    stebie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Western Subs, VIC
    The second of two lines in the post you quoted does give an example (above emphasis my own).

    That said, it's news to me.
     
  16. protecon

    protecon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,040
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I just RMA'd a 512GB M4 for this very reason.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: