cs sound through onboard sound only

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MoNk{LAH}, Aug 12, 2002.

  1. MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i'm using a maxi fortissimo atm on my PC. I'm going to be using my onboard sound on my a7v266e soon, so i can use both speakers and headphones at the same time.

    maxi sound card: 4.1 speakers (for divx/mp3s)

    onboard sound: headphones(games like cs)

    now, i can get winamp to use the maxi sound card for its output of the mp3s

    if i set the default soundcard, the divx and mp3s both run through the speakers.

    in games like cs, the output is also through the speakers if i do this

    however, i want cs to output sound through the onboard sound (headphones)ONLY

    can any one tell me how to? or would it be easier if i get a newer soundcard like a sb live de5.1 which allows both the headphones and the speakers?
     
  2. roodog

    roodog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    You cannot have two sound cards installed.
    Your onboard sound is disabled so if buying a new s/card is easier than unplugging the other speakers and plugging in your headphones, go for it.
     
  3. AusKWiKsAnD

    AusKWiKsAnD Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,700
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    You cant have two sound cards installed?? Since when?
    I'm using onboard and SB Live DE5.1 right now...

    I use microphone on the on board because I can't get the mic boost nearly as high from the SBLive... all output and other input is done from the soundblaster
     
  4. Crash Dummy

    Crash Dummy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,756
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    i'm doing the same. Onboard audio on my Epox 8K3A+ doing the audio dutys and my SBLive 5.1 outputting a signal to my BA7500g's. This allows me to run a stereo off the Analog output of the onboard audio and my BA7500g sub as a dedicated subwoofer.
     
  5. roodog

    roodog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    SorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorrySorry

    I meant he can't under Win XP. Win 9x and ME not really a problem but 2000, XP, and NT generally give massive problems.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    MoNk{LAH}

    MoNk{LAH} Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    um i'm using XP and have both onboard and my maxi fortissimo working.....so it can work :)
     
  7. AusKWiKsAnD

    AusKWiKsAnD Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,700
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    hehehehehe me too...
    I'm running onboard on me Epox 8K3A+, and SBLive 5.1DE and Win XP.. Never had a problem.

    kWiKsAnD
     
  8. Fred Nurk

    Fred Nurk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    Cairns QLD
    its actually the other way around, it works in multitasking OSsbut not in 9X
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: