Custom Made E-Trike

Discussion in 'Other Toys/Hobbies' started by AussieJester, Jun 6, 2008.

Tags:
  1. AussieJester

AussieJester Member

I plan to construct a custom frame, a trike frame, I am disabled (in-complete paraplegic) thus your standard two wheel bike isn't a possibility, pedals on this build will also be absent (i had originally planned on pedals but on further thought well.... ) I guess you could call this my own custom version of a mobility scooter The trike will be used predominantly for local runs on the bike path/footpath to the shops (approx 1km away) and longer runs to larger shopping center (and local pub hehe) some 3 kms away so the need for huge distance isn't of a big concern at this point. What is is hill climbing ability i live in a VERY hilly area.

I have already purchased a 130amp mig welder ( i was a welder before my accident) and a pipe bender to construct the trike frame. I have a pretty well equipped workshop at my home. This build will be a somewhat lengthy affair, that said i am hoping to have the trike complete (ridable maybe not prepped and painted) within 3 months.

OK...so the frame design was originally planned to look something along these lines-->

[​IMG]

Thus far i have got to this stage of construction-->

[​IMG]

I was after a 'pro/stock' look, a lower seat height is required so as transferring from my wheelchair to the trike isn't a major issue. The frame will be constructed from 33 mm to 25mm diameter (wall thickness~2mm)

Front forks will also be custom made-->

[​IMG]

Using the following plans

Electrics.

I have ordered the following from TNC Scooters

1000W Motor - 48 Volts (Model: MY1020)
    11 Tooth Dual-D-bore Sprocket For #25 Chain
    80 Tooth Sprocket for #25 Chain
    48V Controller (Model LB37) Yi-Yun Brand Controller
    Brake Leaver with Brake Switch
    #25 Chain (70 Links)
    2 Wire Ignition Assembly
    Twist Throttle Cable (Hall Effect)

(and few additional components as spares)