Cyrix M3 600

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by aloysius, Jun 27, 2001.

  1. aloysius

    aloysius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    646
    Location:
    St Helens, Tas
    Has anyone else played with the M3 chips. the reason i mention them here is because they are VIA made now. I overclocked one 100Mhz (600 @ 700) and took the heatsink completely off. It ran stable for an hour in Seti and at the end of that hour you could still touch the chip without burning you're finger. it impressed me just a shame the performance isn't reallr there :rolleyes:
     
  2. seaQuest_AMD

    seaQuest_AMD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Wollongong
    Yeah, the VIA Cyrix, now C3 are excellent processors, I would be proud to have one powering a server or an internet box for my folks.

    Just VIA need to work on its FPU, get it at least to Celeron/Duron levels to be more competitive (in the gamers market anyway).

    But, VIA want rampspeeds, for the market they are targeting, FPU is not a major issue, so VIA are doing things right, but as a gamer, get the FPU fixed :D
     
  3. leperMessiah

    leperMessiah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,233
    Location:
    Sydney
    Was that a C3 or a cyrix3 that you overclocked and tested?

    Would it clock any higher?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    aloysius

    aloysius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    646
    Location:
    St Helens, Tas
    Yeah the chip i had had M3 on it but i think it is called a C3. Its a cool chip. The FPU on it sux a heap of arse but for Apps it roxxors. Alot better than the old IBM Cyrix Chips which took it up the butt a bit
     
  5. Deanodriver

    Deanodriver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,430
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yes, the IBM cyrix chips sucked, i run one in my other system
    for about another 15 hours anyway :p
    it'd be an OK Linux CPU though

    Dean
     
  6. Ranchu

    Ranchu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hi all,

    Could you please give me a little more info on this CPU - I am quite interested.

    I am looking to build a small form factor server and I think this CPU has many of the qualities I am looking for.

    Do they come with (or require) a heatsink and/or fan? What is their price / performance? Where can I get them from in Oz? Do they run on socket 370 mobos?

    Lots of questions I know :)
     
  7. seaQuest_AMD

    seaQuest_AMD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Wollongong
    The newer VIA C3 processor can run without a fan (heatsink is still required), and can work on most Socket 370 motherboards.

    Consult www.via.com.tw for more specific information on VIA C3 Compatible motherboards.
     
  8. leperMessiah

    leperMessiah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,233
    Location:
    Sydney
    On a side note - I just ran a Cyrix233 for about 10 minutes without fan (accident - pulled it off while mucking about with CD_rom cables), black screen - not blue.

    Reboot with fan on - mixed up boot screen - random characters everywhere - bugger.

    Let cool for hour and right as rain again, just right for my lets try this suspected virus attachment exe and the like.

    Actually it comes in quite useful for many reasons.
     
  9. seaQuest_AMD

    seaQuest_AMD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Wollongong
    LOL!

    Me and Bionic done a similar thing with a K6/2 a couple years back, but the CPU worked fine afterwards.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: