Dataset or Volume (ZFS in NAS4Free)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by robertgd, Oct 6, 2012.

1. robertgd

robertgd Member

Have installed the latest version of NAS4Free (FreeNAS 7 continuation)

I'm fairly new to ZFS and Unix/BSD in general. So far I've set up my ZFS pool in RAIDZ of 5x 2TB drives - giving me 9.06T - however I think only 7.5TB would be usable? It doesn't really say anywhere.

Now I'm a bit confused on the differences between volumes and datasets. I have looked on the wiki but there doesn't seem to be much information there.

What I'd ultimately like is the ZFS pool to have two usable volumes. One called "media" which would be around 5-6TB, and one called "files" which would use the remainder (1-2TB?) that are shared out.

I'm not sure if I should be created a single volume, and two datasets? Or two volumes and no datasets?

I tried mucking around but didn't get very far. I managed a single volume called data, but I'd really prefer two separate ones. So I've deleted everything (except for the zpool) so I can start from scratch.

Also I've now noticed this:
    Name Size Used Free Capacity Dedup Health AltRoot
    data 9.06T 5.00T 2.13T 0% 1.00x ONLINE -

I'm not sure why it's saying used 5T? There is nothing on the drives, they are blank.

Some help would be much appreciated.

2. CiPHER_nl

CiPHER_nl Member

A volume in ZFS context means a ZVOL; a virtual harddrive that can be used to put other filesystems on. For example if you use iSCSI, you give a virtual harddrive of x gigabyte to your Windows desktop which puts its own NTFS filesystem on top of that.

Safer and better is to use ZFS filesystems, which probably is what you want.

Your pool 'tank' always contains a filesystem by the same name as the pool, but you can create as many as you want. Filesystems are special directories and share all free space available in the pool.