DD+ and Kodi

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by Sledge, Sep 13, 2017.

  1. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,596
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hi guys,
    So i have ripped my copy of Serenity (HD-DVD) to the HDD, and it used to work fine.
    Now i get major stuttering when i try to play the file.
    As far as i can tell it's due to DD+ as when i disable the passthrough of that in kodi, it plays fine.
    Does this happen to anyone else? Anyone else got a file with DD+ in it?
     
  2. Smoke87

    Smoke87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,196
    So your receive has a DD+ decoder and Kodi wasn't previously decoding it for you and was in fact bit streaming, or, your receiver does not have said decoder and Kodi was previously decoding it for you.

    What model receiver do you have?

    Try MPC-HC media player.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,596
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Receiver does have DD+
    Tried a couple of them..

    But without downgrading to an older kodi i can't say for sure what it was doing before
     
  4. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,445
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Enabled pass through in Kodi?
     
  5. Smoke87

    Smoke87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,196
    May also be called 'bit streaming'.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,596
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yes i have..
    And it's when that's enabled and DD+ marked as supported that the issue presents itself...
    On 2 different amps.. 1 pioneer 1 Yamaha
     
  7. shmity

    shmity Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    900
    What Hardware? On my old windows HTPC with a yamaha receiver I managed passthrough of everything all the way up to TrueHD etc without issue. Now on an AndroidTV box with SPMC Im also getting no issues.

    Check the samples here:
    http://kodi.wiki/view/Samples
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,596
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I can do everything else too including TrueHD etc as well
    Just DD+ causes issues
    mobo is an Asus P8B75-M
    with an i3 CPU etc

    Tried it with onboard HDMI as well as a discrete card, both the same..

    hrmm testing with the 'Safari' clip it works fine...
    Maybe it's something to do with copy protection then (I ripped it from disk with makemkv)
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2017
  9. Smoke87

    Smoke87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,196
    If you have a source with True HD, opt for that over DD+.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    6,596
    Location:
    Adelaide
    The disc in discussion doesn't have TrueHD only DD or DD+
     

Share This Page