DDR4 RAM coming December

Discussion in 'Memory' started by vid_ghost, Nov 20, 2013.

  1. vid_ghost

    vid_ghost Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,149
    RAM going DDR4 starting next month - http://www.afterdawn.com/news/article.cfm/2013/11/16/ram_going_ddr4_starting_next_month

    Crucial DDR4 SDRAM Memory Shipping Before Years End - http://www.geeky-gadgets.com/crucial-ddr4-sdram-memory-shipping-before-years-end-18-11-2013/

    Crucial Claims Faster, Lower Power DDR4 Memory Could Ship Before Year End - http://hothardware.com/News/Crucial...Power-DDR4-Memory-Could-Ship-Before-Year-End/

    We could see it on Haswel-E as the first consumer platform then High end FX Steamroller *2015 :Paranoid: maybe even APU's in 2014
    Servers and enterprise will be the main customers at first. But DDR3 has had a good run and its time it got replaced with something more efficient, faster and dense. DDR4 is looking at 16GB per stick so 128GB of DDR4 ram on consumer boards with 8 dim slots
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2013
  2. hairy

    hairy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    yay! about time we got more ram..... now what the fudge will I do with it ?
    speed boost is more than welcome.
     
  3. lawrencep93

    lawrencep93 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,982
    Location:
    Melborne, VIC
    Does that mean we will need to wait for new CPU's to come out in 2014 + new motherboard to use it?

    Or do you think that some board will come out with current CPU's like the 2011 range?
     
  4. mmBax

    mmBax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,362
    ^I'm curious to know this also.

    I'm overdue for an upgrade, and I figured I'd hold out until ddr4 until I stepped up. But I'd like to have something on the go before Feb '14, so I may just have to get case/ psu/ hdds and wait for the rest of it.
     
  5. kesawi

    kesawi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    Brisbane
    From the end of the Afterdawn article

     
  6. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,858
    Location:
    Canberra
    New CPUs, I expect. Intel hasn't said anything about their existing memory controllers being able to handle DDR4, and since the memory controller is on the CPU you'll need a new CPU.

    AMD might use it for the APUs (where the extra RAM bandwidth would help the GPU a fair bit) but I can't see it being used for the FX chips any time soon. Too much money to implement it, and AMD doesn't have any money to spare.
     
  7. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,299
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Current cpus don't have ddr4 controllers, so you have to wait.
     
  8. mmBax

    mmBax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,362
    But if the tech is due out in Jan. You'd expect CPU manufacturers to have the technology before it got released to the public?
     
  9. Catweazle

    Catweazle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Location:
    Sale, Vic.
  10. Reaper

    Reaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    12,159
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld, Australia
    The jump was better from ddr2 - ddr3 than ddr3 - ddr4. :)
     
  11. mmBax

    mmBax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,362
  12. 2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,346
    Location:
    Wangaratta vic 3677
    It looks like it going to be to rich for most of us for some time to come but that the way with everything that new. I don't think it's really going to effect myself as a gamer that much fps wise for sometime to come so i doubt ill be rushing for it. Lol will be great for bench's though:D
     
  13. primalnuke

    primalnuke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    QLD
    Will there actually be a noticeable difference upon DDR3?
     
  14. ~Llama~

    ~Llama~ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That depends on your uses.

    Memory heavy applications will definitely see a boost in speed, but if you're gaming, for example, I doubt you'd notice the difference.
     
  15. swiss time

    swiss time Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    3D graphics?

    I render stuff in maxwell render and lightwave.

    I might notice the difference. Maybe . :rolleyes:
     
  16. Alpha2k6

    Alpha2k6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Sweden
  17. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,531
    Location:
    Sydney
    Like the jump from DDR2 to 3, less volts/power more performance.

    To this extent, even though we thought at one stage DDR2 was good, after a few years you'd begin to notice DDR2 starting to lag a bit.
     
  18. desudesu

    desudesu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Sydney
    just wondering why it takes a couple of years before DDR4 or DDR5 to be on the production line for PC's, is the whole architecture different?

    since gfx have been using DDR5 for a year or two now thought that the production line for them would be big enough.
     
  19. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,247
    Location:
    4300
    GDDR5 is not just DDR5 with a "G" for Graphics placed in front of it. Ignore the number, it's just simply denotes it as being version 5 in the GDDR line and is in no way comparable to desktop DDR numbering. GDDR5 is actually based off DDR3 but has a different architecture to make it more suitable for graphic chip requirements (voltages, bus width etc).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GDDR5
     
  20. desudesu

    desudesu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Sydney
    ah i see thanks, well looking forward to the new DDR4 stuff but doubt i would be able to afford it any time soon x58 still doing well apart from loosing out on the sata 3 native support
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: