DDR5 Memory

Discussion in 'Memory' started by micsway123, Oct 14, 2021.

  1. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    more content here



    TLDR: ddr5 not work it for games but yes for some production workflows

    upload_2021-11-8_22-55-2.png

    upload_2021-11-8_22-55-14.png

    upload_2021-11-8_22-55-29.png

    upload_2021-11-8_22-55-42.png
     
  2. OCMunkee

    OCMunkee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    I guess this is probably down to whether the workload benefits more from low-latency (games) or high-bandwidth (4K video)?
     
  3. Aidan le Gras

    Aidan le Gras Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Anyone have any idea when some DDR5 might actually arrive in Australia?

    I can’t see any in stock……anywhere.
     
  4. Scum

    Scum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    6054 WA
    2023
     
    M1ck1 likes this.
  5. Slavetonet

    Slavetonet Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,489
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Yes these new DDR architecture upgrade just repeat every generation.
    If you have been around since 2000. You will know it repeats over and over.
    Do not chase the new DDR5 as it won't be much difference in performance.
    I didn't buy DDR3 till almost end of cycle. I am doing the same for DDR4.
    DDR3-1600mhz to DDR4-3600mhz
     
  6. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    563
    Location:
    Tas
    I love how these so called review "experts" on YT run the newer platform with unofficially supported ram speeds. 4800 is it for AL. Not 6000. Yet they'll keep the previous gen on the official supported speed...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    GN getting in on the act:

     
  8. Slavetonet

    Slavetonet Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,489
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    i have just watched it.
    Proved my point exactly. LOL
     
  9. Butcher9_9

    Butcher9_9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,668
    Location:
    Perth , St James
    And for the money of a 6000Mz DDR5 kit you could most likely get some really baller DDR4 that would be great for gaming as well.

    Don't have to wait for the end , normally 2 years in its OK.

    Just don't by in the first year or so, Pricing is crazy high ans specs are rubbish.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    some DDR5 overclocking finally

     
  11. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    Interesting he runs most sub timings on auto. 1.4v to get 5400mhz easy. All sub timings auto. 38-44-44-80 primaries
     
  12. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,105
    Location:
    Adelaide
  13. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    It's a single 8GB stick so it is double the price of DDR4 and it is very slow with latency equivalent to DDR4 2666c22.
     
  14. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,105
    Location:
    Adelaide
    But others are double this again...
    Like yeah it doesn't have any fancy heatsink attached etc... but still..
     
  15. jekel

    jekel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    889
    Location:
    Melbourne
  16. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,105
    Location:
    Adelaide
  17. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    562
    Deleted.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2021
  18. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    562
    Started stability testing DDR5.
    e Cores disabled

    6200c36
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2021
    micsway123 and Scum like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: