Dead discrete gfx chip - possible to bypass?

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by congoh, Sep 8, 2019.

  1. congoh

    congoh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,875
    Location:
    Melbourne, not too far from Monash Uni.
    Hi,

    I have a Toshiba Satellite L850 i5-3210m CPU laptop with dead HD7670m discrete graphics GPU.

    I don't get a video and when I connect the laptop to external screen I get "no video input" message.

    I've looked into reflowing GPU with heatgun on youtube as 1 possible repair solution.

    However, before disassembling the laptop I want to know if it is possible to disable discrete gfx chip so laptop will output video via integrate graphics chip.

    Can anyone tell me whether this is feasible?
    If yes, what keyboard combination do I use to do this?

    Thanks in advance for you help.
     
  2. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,230
    Location:
    Brisbane
    No it's not possible. I very much doubt attempting to reflow the gpu will help either, given the framebuffer's still output via the intel graphics. Sounds more likely your entire logic board is dead. Have you been able to remote desktop into it?
     
  3. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,191
    Location:
    Melbourne
    If your laptop has the MXM version of the card then just remove the card, but as Quadbox said I doubt the discrete gfx is your problem.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    congoh

    congoh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,875
    Location:
    Melbourne, not too far from Monash Uni.
    No, I can't see anything (no video output on screen or external LCD) so I can't even log in and I disabled remote desktop.
    Bummer. Looks like I'm going to have to disassemble this and get down and dirty.
    I saw a youtube vid where the author resurrected a HP G6 by knocking out a capacitor on PCB thus cutting power to discrete AMD gfx chip and forcing bios to use integrated gfx.
    Given the age of this laptop, I think I'll just upgrade and use this as hobby project.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  5. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,687
    Location:
    Canberra
    MacBook Pro's had this issue as well. There are hacks for those to disable the discreet card using software, surely the same can be done here?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    congoh

    congoh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,875
    Location:
    Melbourne, not too far from Monash Uni.
    I saw those youtube vids.
    That's why I asked here hoping for something similar but it appears this is not the case for windows eco sys.
     
  7. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3,687
    Location:
    Canberra
    Throw Linux on it and try the OS X method maybe
     
  8. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,985
    I guess it might work to find the VEN\DEV id and delete it from every INF - plus the drivers that go with it, install it offline, disable the adapter and then try.

    That is, assuming vga works in the first place.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: