[WIN7] Dedicated Windows 7 Discussion

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. scottath

    scottath Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,575
    Location:
    Sydney
    not business at all....home use only - so just go get some OEM licences from my work then....ok then - i shall wait till October for my key then
     
  2. the scotsman

    the scotsman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,411
    Location:
    NSW South Coast
    Ah ok...I read "my work place" instead of "my place" :tired:
     
  3. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,073
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    gah! win 7 was freezing every few seconds and had to reboot.....gggrrrr.....where's the OEM when I need it!
     
  4. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,765
    Location:
    Melb
    Since W7 installed my audio has been screwed so I'm dying to upgrade to RTM, means I don't have to reboot everyday (hopefully).
     
  5. Matt_NZ

    Matt_NZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,308
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Isn't the Volume License edition an exception to this?
     
  6. Mallik

    Mallik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I think one reason M$ do the technet subscription is so they can get some money out of people who would have otherwise pirated the software.
     
  7. Tyrial

    Tyrial Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Ok people. It's up on techent. Pitty its only coming through at ~100kB/s though. Also, has anyone heard if Microsoft are releasing different discs for different versions of Windows 7 (i.e. Proffesional keys only work with proffesional discs, Ultimate keys only work with ultimate discs etc.) since each version of Windows 7 has its own download on technet.
     
  8. Ambush

    Ambush Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,960
    Location:
    Gladstone QLD Australia
    Given that I'm on 1.5Mb, that suits me just fine.

    As for keys, one would expect that the Ultimate key would work on each of the lesser installs. Apart from Enterprise, the ISOs for x86 and x64 versions of each of Home, Pro and Ultimate have an identical file size and are probably identical.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  9. biglolz

    biglolz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    400k/s from a 30m connection based in the US. Can only assume their links are getting destroyed ;)
     
  10. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,114
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    doubt it, very much ;) this is MS remember, the guys who dish out updates to MILLIONS of pc's every month...the amount of technet subscribers pales in comparison.

    does MS use Akamai?
     
  11. biglolz

    biglolz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    True, but updates are not 3g+ right. I would also assume windowupdate is much better load balanced, ie it was designed that way, MSDN probably wasn't. My speeds are down to 100k so something is slowing down - i was pulling down 2.5m/s last night.
     
  12. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,114
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    im just downloading service pack 3 for xp as a test, getting 4mb/s

    Edit - from NYT article "Most people agree that Microsoft has farmhouses containing 200,000 servers in the value of 150 million dollars, plus a monthly expense of about 8 million dollars due to the company server about 1-2 petabyte a day. "

    heh, quite interestng to see how much bandwidth these mega-corps use

    google.com home page, as simple as it is pulls 24tb a year...for a single tiny gif and some text

    http://connect.icrossing.co.uk/bandwidth-goolgecom_1256
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  13. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,894
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Windows 7 RTM/Retail Discussion | Now Available For Technet and MSDN!

    Microsoft has officially released Windows 7 RTM (Release to Manufacturing) available for download via Technet and MSDN, however, users must have a valid subscription to either web site :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  14. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,903
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    yay off to download :D
     
  15. kiwimeat

    kiwimeat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,934
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Averaging about 40 KB/s here at the moment downloading the Ultimate x64 ISO.

    Have they split the versions back to seperate ISO's? One of the pluses with Vista was that you only needed a single DVD for either x86 or x64 and could choose which version during install.
     
  16. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,449
    Location:
    Kilsyth 3137
    Just started downloading myself :) Sadly I have a wedding and a birthday party over the weekend so I have to wait till during the week to play... at least on the desktop... I can probably do the laptop on the way to or from work :D

    (Dear God and I a Nerd).


    edit: I notice there is a range of different DVD images available for Home Basic, Home Premium, Premium and Ultimate which are different sizes. I would have thought that it would be like Vista in that if you have the "Ultimate" image, you can install any of the versions form that media with the correct versions chosen from a list (or set by the key you enter at install). I suppose I will see soon enough if it's an option.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  17. SaTaN

    SaTaN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,790
    Location:
    Caulfield-ish
    you could? my vista ulitmate box has 2 dvds...
     
  18. OldnBold

    OldnBold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,261
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Downloading as we speak :thumbup:

    EDIT: I can confirm 10 keys of each type are available.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  19. pavlos

    pavlos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    Melbourne
  20. kiwimeat

    kiwimeat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,934
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Is it a Retail version?

    Sorry only ever used ISO's from Microsoft (MSDN, Technet & Select Volume Licensing) so never had a genuine Microsoft DVD. All have only ever been a single disk as far as I can remember.

    Progress so far - 1% in 30 minutes :thumbdn:

    :thumbup: Excellent - thanks for that pavlos. I'll be installing from USB most of the time.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009

Share This Page

Advertisement: