Dell E248WFP 24" Widescreen Monitor | Discussion

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Yah it would of been nice if it had those touch sensitive button :D But that comes with the higher models i think.
     
  2. phantom220

    phantom220 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    What settings are you using Alba? Brightness, contrast and RGB values?

    Always looking to get a better picture
     
  3. Lodion

    Lodion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Perth
    So it seems Startrack Express here in WA are a useless bunch of bastards, and have lost my E248 :(

    It arrived here yesterday, which was the ETA on their site. But it hasn't shown and they can't find it at the depot.
     
  4. Sindarin Ultra

    Sindarin Ultra Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Here they are.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  5. n00by

    n00by Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    Sydney, 2219
    so as far as i can see you have each one on a separate arm...

    not quite what i was after i want one that can hold two monitors off one pole...
     
  6. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Scorptec should have something for you: http://www.scorptec.com.au/browse/18/421

    A company called Skunkworks made a dual screen stand, but for some reason they stopped making it..it was the cheapest one around and good quality, around 170 bucks.
     
  7. n00by

    n00by Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    Sydney, 2219
    woah those are all really expensive!!!!!!! will cost more than the monitor :thumbdn:
     
  8. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Are you after something like this?

    [​IMG]

    or like this?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2008
  9. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    170 was very cheap, most of the other better looking stands were in the mid 200's with ease.
     
  10. n00by

    n00by Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    Sydney, 2219
    im more after the first one but with a c clamp - point is to free up space on desk taken up by stands not to have another stand lol

    where are they from?

    i cant seem to find much on ebay either...
     
  11. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I get them thru my wholesaler. So I wont mention actual prices (out of respect for the sponsors here), but they sit between $220 & 240 for most dual monitor stands that can support 2 x 24" etc.

    EDIT- btw the brand is "atdec", might make your hunt a bit easier. The first one can be fitted either as a bolt thru design, or desk clamp.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2008
  12. n00by

    n00by Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,152
    Location:
    Sydney, 2219
    what else do they have???

    are you able to sell... maybe take this to PM?
     
  13. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    This is probably more what your after I'm guessing. (again this can be bolt thru or clamped to the desk).

    [​IMG]

    I would suggest look around for Atdec see if anyone here ( a sponsor) or dealer local to you that may do them, as normally I deal just with GOVT. and in Adelaide only.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Good prices, more than 100 bucks of most prices i've seen online.
     
  15. Claymen

    Claymen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Here is how mine are setup.

    Still tweaking the brightness to get them all about right but so far so good :) Dell are shipping out a replacement for the dead pixel but just gotta wait for it.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  16. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Very nice. :thumbup:
     
  17. Claymen

    Claymen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Cheers :)

    Wouldn't mind a mounting kit for them but for 3 monitors it gets pricey plus got plenty of desk space as is.
     
  18. Onyx

    Onyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,253
    Location:
    NSW
    My condolences. I have painful delays awaiting delivery of mine...

    It was originally scheduled for delivery on Friday 24th; I saw a Toll delivery truck drive by, turn into a nearby cul-de-sac, idle for 10 minutes and then leave. Then I get a phone call from Dell on the following Monday, saying 'the shipment was returned' and to schedule another delivery time. That was for this morning, which has come and gone. I'm currently on hold with Dell cust service wondering WTF. 24 mins and counting.

    Considering the unit left Dell warehouse on the 22nd of Oct (according to their website), it's spent a long time at the hands of the courier/delivery companies.

    Meanwhile, I have a friend who ordered the same day I did, who lives just 1 suburb away, having had his delivered the first time and has been enjoying it for a week! :(
     
  19. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    You know you want to hook up the forth one when it comes :D
     
  20. Lodion

    Lodion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Perth
    Well, it arrived this morning unannounced, so it all worked out ok in the end.

    Now I just have to calibrate it, and get used to the size. My previous screen was a 19" Samsung :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: