Dell Studio XPS 13 and 16

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by JCB81, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. Jarrah

    Jarrah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    I havent actually timed it but on a full change mine says it will last 2:30 doing normal desktop browsing and the like in power saving mode (either lowest or close to lowest brightness).
     
  2. SGG

    SGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    .....right here.
    Its the price today mate.
     
  3. SGG

    SGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    .....right here.
    I built it today on the dell website ........ this spec is $2908 on their site now ..... just select all of the options and thats what it comes to.
     
  4. kearnsyaus

    kearnsyaus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    138
    I stand corrected!

    If you configure up the cheapest model, add cpu, upgrade warranty, upgrade to 7200rpm 500gb hard disk you do get a price around $2900.

    No idea why you would configure the cheapest... if you configure up the middle system to the same specs you save almost $300 straight up before any discount.

    Still $2000 is still a great price, even with 15% off $2600 still only brings it down to $2200.
     
  5. SGG

    SGG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    .....right here.

    NP....I hadn't noticed that about the next system over :eek: .... the $900 price difference looked a little strange at the time.
     
  6. AesthetiCz

    AesthetiCz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Fired up a thread over in the networking area but I thought I might check here as well to see if any other owners have had a similar issue.

    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=811375

    I got my new Studio XPS 1340 yesterday and the first thing i did was wipe vista and put windows 7 on.

    Now, I am having problems with the wireless network. It connects to my wireless network, I can even ping external sites like google but web browsers will not display any content.

    After talking extensively with Dell and Belkin I think the problem is conflict between windows network utility and dell network utility. However, I cant find where to turn the windows utility off. Does anyone know how this can be done?

    In older versions of windows there was an option to choose who managed the wireless networks; windows or dell. There doesnt appear to be such an option in windows 7. And the dell utility itself doesnt seem to have any options at all, it seems more like a monitoring tool more than anything that serves any functional purpose. I cant just delete this because it is bundled with the wireless drivers.

    Anyone had a similar problem?

    Funny thing is, I am on a different wireless network right now and it seems to be working. far out i have no idea....
     
  7. Draco

    Draco Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    401
    Hi guys, my flatmate is looking at getting an XPS16 but I'm a little put off by the Windows7 upgrade disk. She's not really computer literate and I just smell grief with it.

    Does anybody know when Dell will be shipping systems with Windows7 preinstalled? It just seems easier and safer this way.
     
  8. the scotsman

    the scotsman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,411
    Location:
    NSW South Coast
    It's not difficult to put a Widows 7 DVD in and choose upgrade.

    But if you want W7 from the start, you need to wait until October 22nd, the Windows 7 release date.
     
  9. xtortion

    xtortion Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,013
    Location:
    North Sydney
    The Compaq NX8220 laptop that I'm using hasn't had a wireless network dropout in days. It happens on my 1640 at least once a day. No idea.
     
  10. SavvyFx

    SavvyFx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    285

    I think windows 7 had my wireless drivers with it. I can't remember installing any, but if I did, it was either through windows update or Device manager. That way there will be no crapware installed with it.
     
  11. November

    November Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Back in BrisneyWorld
    Does anyone know how to apply this deal in real life. I PMd HA and asked him how it works and he obligingly told me that apparently if you buy a desktop or laptop you only pay 85%.... somehow.
     
  12. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,673
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    I think you get yor cart ready and advise HA.
     
  13. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,673
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    How retarded are Dell? I'd ordered my XPS 13 last week. I want to get a few extra AC adapters for myself and a collegue. Of course you cannot order an AC adapter online, you have to call. So I call and get put through to spare parts ane be put on hold 4 times then the call disconnects. I call back and get someone, get a price and get it approved. I call back to order. They guy will not sell me one without the service tag of my laptop. But I want to order them now so that they're here when my laptop arrives not wait another two weeks after getting the laptop! Why you cannot order online either I do not know.

    Well then Dell you miss out on a few hundred bucks - 3rd party Targus here I come!

    /rant
     
  14. HellsAngel

    HellsAngel Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,485
    Location:
    Sydney
    That sucks Acid he should be able to just order it for you.

    I managed to give a spare charger free to another member as he needed a spare one for office and for home.
     
  15. garvs

    garvs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    hmmm delivery of my Laptop was estimated for yesterday 14th but there was no courier at all that turned up

    this is what it says once I login:
    Current Status: With Local Carrier (been like that since the 9th)
    Estimate Delivery Date: To be advised.(was the 14th) Please check this site at later time. For further enquiries please submit your request.

    damn couriers! lol
     
  16. the scotsman

    the scotsman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,411
    Location:
    NSW South Coast
    Have you tried calling the courier? All they need is your Dell order number. 1800 819 339
     
  17. garvs

    garvs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    rang them and after a little wait i spoke to a person who put me onto another person lol that was able to check and said i should have got a call yesterday from the local courier and it should ahve been delivered so he was going to contact them to get it sent out today (hopefully)

    cheers for the phone number :) :thumbup:
     
  18. Miyagi

    Miyagi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    444
    Location:
    Brunswick, Vic
    well it looks like my build and subsequent delivery date has been extended... :thumbdn: :Paranoid:
     
  19. garvs

    garvs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    ok update:

    laptop has arrived and looks great :) cheers for the help

    its heaps better than my old system lol
     
  20. garvs

    garvs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    ok after using the laptop for a little bit i quickly noticed a slight sound coming from where the plug slots into the ac adapter... does anyone else's do this?

    its almost sounds like its an ticking and an electrical noise sort of if its not making the connection correct or something

    do you think i may have gotten a dud power ac adapter? :confused:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: