Dell vs Samsung

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by strangerdanger, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. Digit

    Digit Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Sydney
    THIS! S cannot wait for that, would love it if it were in a 24" though oh god :D

    I think i had a 'moment'

    Also, know anything about those monitors coming out later this year you mentioned?
     
  2. ALEXH-

    ALEXH- Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Thanks for the images man. Hows the gaming on it compared to U2711? I'm seriously thinking of getting one ... I know extended desktop would be a pain in the ass because resolutions are different, that's why I would only use it for gaming.
     
  3. cbwolf

    cbwolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Well to give you an idea my u2711 is in the For Sale section :D

    I figure i spend more then 50% of my time at the computer gaming so i'll go with the best gaming monitor.

    Also it's not the resolution that makes using both a pain. It's the amount of physical space that the 2x 27" monitors take up. If you sit in the middle you actually have to lean to one side to use a monitor because they're that wide - you cant just turn your head.
     
  4. ALEXH-

    ALEXH- Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    So it's that good aye. Awesome. Cheers for that.I think I might pull the trigger. 2x 6970s can handle pretty much everything maxed out @ 1080p, not sure if it can handle 120fps constant in most games, but should be good either way.
     
  5. ALEXH-

    ALEXH- Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Just thought I'd let you know I bought the monitor yesterday. I need to buy the damn HDMI cable in order to run both U2711 and 120hz because currently have DVI only but I didn't know that only top DVI port on AMD cards was a dual-link. Ah well.

    Monitor is sensational. First game I launches was CS:S and straight away I noticed the smoothness while moving around. Really epic. BF3 @ ultra 4xmsaa I get around 90fps. It dips to high 50s in most intense moments but still awesome. Could you tell me what colour settings you're using on your screen?
     
  6. cbwolf

    cbwolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,776
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not going to help you. HDMI on video cards is limited to 1920x1200 @ 60Hz so it wont be able to run either of your displays.

    You'll need to use Displayport.

    Although in saying that, on my GTX680 i had both my u2711 and Samsung running off a single link and dual link DVI respectively - which shouldnt be possible :wired:
     
  7. super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,271
    Location:
    Sydney Lane Cove 2066
    DVI does 120Hz right?
     
  8. [LoL]

    [LoL] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3056
    Yes, only on a dual link DVI cable though
     
  9. Darth Teddy Bär

    Darth Teddy Bär Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    You will retract that statement in a few weeks :D

    I have a 30" and 27" and well, I want a 3rd one because I can and I have M envy ;)
     
  10. sam_allen

    sam_allen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Borås, Sweden
    Just bought 3 SA27850T's. Got rid of the U2711 I had, AG was shitting me. (I work with a lot of text and the white background's never really appear white). The LED screen draws less than half the power too, considerably less heat coming off them too as a result == cooler room.

    Running them on a GTX670, two on DVI and the other on DP. (HDMI only supports 1080p on this monitor)

    I was considering waiting for the rumoured U2713, but in the end I couldn't wait.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: