DFI Ultra D

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by drunkntigr, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. drunkntigr

    drunkntigr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I'm using a 380W ATX2.) PSU antec tru power 2.0

    Will this board run it along with an opteron 146?

    Anyway I know this board is hard for OC, but what about out of the box? Does this mobo actually work out of the box? Or do I have to adjust 10million settings.

    From all the OC results they're either abit an8 ultra or the dfi ultras

    I'm guessing from the proff the asus/gigabyte/msi mobos get nowhere close?

    I'm only on DDR400 2.5-3-3-7 ocz premier ram and don't wish to spend more than that, so i guess can't make the full capacity of my dfi will i?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2005
  2. mikeyyy

    mikeyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'm not too sure on the PSU, but I hear 400+ will do the job...

    My 144 almost ran the Ultra-D right out of the box, I had to adjust a couple of settings. First was the boot-up sequence and the second was to manually select the cpu multiplier.
     
  3. Manol

    Manol Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,238
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    It works fine out of the box, just like any other motherboard.

    Its when you start overclocking and fiddling with RAM it gets complicated.

    Although DFI say you need a 24pin 480w mininmum psu to power this motherboard, and any less your warranty is voided.

    Asus are an option
    Gigabyte - forget about it
    MSI - Meh, very last resort
    Abit - Very good choice, but be careful especially as it has a 1T bug with certain types of ram.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    drunkntigr

    drunkntigr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Cape Town
    bah.

    asus it is then.

    and the abit an8 ultra's are discontinued so blah
     
  5. Manol

    Manol Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,238
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    What the fuck? You're getting an Opteron 146, with shitty OCZ Premier that doesnt go past 215mhz stable, with an Asus A8N-E.

    Why dont you go out and buy a Venice 3200+ and save an Opteron for someone who deserves it.

    /end jealousy rant.
     
  6. afrokiller

    afrokiller Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Location:
    Brisbane Goodtrades: 8
    Dude, nobody is gonna get any opteron any time soon :( and the ASUS board and OCZ ram aint that shit. Well it's not the worst but certainly not the best you can get.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    drunkntigr

    drunkntigr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Cape Town
    haha. relax dude. i haven't got an opteron yet. the abit an8 ultras are discontinued unless you gimme yours. and i haven't had time to get decent ram as these are from my p4 2.8e

    i'd go the dfi d honestly but i cbf upgrading psu, i think I MIGHT JUST LEAVE THE OPTERON 146 at stock :p
     
  8. mikeyyy

    mikeyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    Sydney
    haha get an Enermax 535W, for $115-120 you can't go wrong. It's SLI certified and I think it might have EPS too (is EPS the 8pin plug?)
     
  9. Jimmy89

    Jimmy89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yep. i believe the EPS is the 8pin, and the latest revision of the 535w enermax has it.
     
  10. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    which board?

    nf3 or nf4?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    drunkntigr

    drunkntigr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Cape Town
    nf4

    even though nf3 would be cheaper, i dont' like buying old chipsets.
     
  12. Manol

    Manol Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,238
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    Dont but the nf3.

    Bug ridden board.
     
  13. 5days

    5days Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,472
    Location:
    Perth
    Plus it uses different mosfets...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: