Dishonored 2

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by kreegor, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. Fortigurn

    Fortigurn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,327
    Location:
    taipei.tw
    Yeah, sorry.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    kreegor

    kreegor Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,022
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Although the lines between these 2 are slowly blurring.
     
  3. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,967
    Location:
    South East QLD
    bethesda were right at the front of the useless DLC movement... never forget horse armor
     
  4. Ck21

    Ck21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    656
    Location:
    SA
    Every PC game bethesda have published have suffered from chronic performance issues, they usually try to fix it, but give up after 4 or 5 patches, then they just let the community modders fix it for them.

    What makes dishonored 2 different is that it uses denuvo DRM, every game released using that particular DRM has suffered major performance issues, and to make it worse; the semi-recent cracked versions dont have the same issues...

    So, my bet is a good 50/50 spilt on why the performance is so horrible (lack of polish before release and the other half on denuvo).

    I wonder if they integrated denuvo into the finial release build that was tested before released, or if it was integrated after and just wasn't tested.
     
  5. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,075
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Hehehe I'll probably just play BF1 tonight.
     
  6. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,967
    Location:
    South East QLD
    DOOM4 runs great on most systems though, and is on the same engine, from the same publisher.
     
  7. Ck21

    Ck21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    656
    Location:
    SA
    when they patched in vulcan sure, prior to that on pure OpenGL though not soo much (well nvidia users where ok, AMD users not so much).
     
  8. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,116
    Location:
    brisbane
    Doom does have denuvo but is on iD Tech 6 not 5 which Dishonored 2 is based on.

    Denuvo though has a very bad track record with being associated with games with poor performance.
     
  9. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,075
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    IIRC the void engine is 30% id tech 5 and 70% custom work. i think it's the 70% that's causing the performance issue with this game.
     
  10. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,116
    Location:
    brisbane
    I'm blaming denuvo.
     
  11. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,075
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    if DOOM (4) is using denuvo then i should be seeing issues there....but i am not.
     
  12. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,116
    Location:
    brisbane
    still blaming it.
     
  13. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,075
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Hopefully a patch comes out soon.
     
  14. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,075
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    I'm checking my install of the game right now to see if i get the same issues.

    so far at 1080p on high settings, fov 90, the throne room drops into the low 50s if i strafe the throne room lengthwise. in-game cutscenes drop into the 40s. I'm gonna keep playing to see if it still drops.
     
  15. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,116
    Location:
    brisbane
    that sounds about right, framerate goes up and down like a drunken sailor.
     
  16. LordHole

    LordHole (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    MELBOURNE
    that sounds about tight

    Just saying :)

    / Live vaispy.php
     
  17. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,116
    Location:
    brisbane
    hahaha, difference is I'm quicker to edit than you are to quote ;)
     
  18. LordHole

    LordHole (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    MELBOURNE
    [​IMG]

    Oh Dear. :tongue:
     
  19. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,075
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    is it just me or does it have some frame pacing issues too?
     
  20. LordHole

    LordHole (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    MELBOURNE
    Sounds about tight :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: