Do people still use RAID cards? Whats the best atm

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by dmr, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. dmr

    dmr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    I use RAID. I love it. However trying to pickup some new cards and all the info out there seems to be dated from years ago.

    I've always used LSI MegaRaid /Adaptec cards, however is there particular brand/model people are recommending these days?

    Looking for ease of use during rebuilds and features. Will most likely use it for RAID1/RAID10 only.

    Looking for a RAID card that isn't proprietary. For example, if 2 HD's in a RAID-1 setup on a PC fail, I am still able to get the working HD out, stick it into a normal PC and use it alone... Right now, you can't do that with some brands as they use their own RAID software.
    :confused:
     
  2. McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I still like adaptec, but that's a big fat no to being able to put the HD's into a normal PC :upset:
     
  3. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,498
    Location:
    Canberra
    imo, their use case is pretty narrow now.

    I prefer HBA's and software defined storage.
     
  4. hairy

    hairy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    488
    areca is a good high end brand but allas I had one fail.
    not much call for raid cards these days.
     
  5. fredhoon

    fredhoon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Is there a reason you "need" a hardware RAID card for RAID 1 or 10, do you want to boot off the RAID array?

    Softraid via a HBA or AHCI Data ports provides the flexibility you desire with minimal (if any) performance penalty for RAID1 / 10 compared to a hardware RAID card.


    Agreed.
     
  6. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    30,811
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Agreed. Haven't turned to hardware RAID in close to 10 years now for my own needs.
     
  7. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,207
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    For RAID10 I would just get a cheap Highpoint card. They double as HBAs when you're done with them too.
    LSI cards tend to have horrible performance in RAID10 mode but 0/1 are fine.
    But yeah, most motherboards do RAID10 just fine.
     
  8. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,836
    Location:
    Perth
    LSI 9261-8i with 2x Intel expanders in RAID6 (Server) & then LSI 9211-8i for RAID0 (Main system)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    dmr

    dmr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    I was under the assumption hardware raid1 was always faster than software raid1?
    whats the best raid software everyone is using now? I want to avoid using the M/B raid because if my mobo dies, I'll most likely need to source the same mobo to get my system back up again?
     
  10. fredhoon

    fredhoon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What are you using it for - Win desktop, linux desktop, server/nas?

    Setup softraid in the OS such that you're not tied to any hardware - e.g. in windows you can use dynamic disks (as long as you are not booting off them), in linux use mdadm or ZFS, for a NAS the world's your oyster.
     
  11. ^catalyst

    ^catalyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,660
    Location:
    melbourne
    Yeah if you want really fast local boot storage get and SSD, if you want a fast lump of accessible storage then a NAS with software raid is the go; can even rig it up over something faster than GbE if you really need it.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    dmr

    dmr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    desktop

    I think Im gonna use stablebit.com/DrivePool + Scanner
     
  13. fredhoon

    fredhoon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,186
    Location:
    Brisbane
  14. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,207
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    Or FlexRAID if you want a solution like UNRAID under Windows.
     
  15. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5,994
    Location:
    Perth
    RAID-1 you generally can just stick into a normal PC if needed though.
     
  16. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,898
    Location:
    Canberra
  17. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,370
  18. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,370
  19. frenchfries

    frenchfries Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Proper megaraid cards do raid 10 quite well, it's only the little cards that don't do it properly.
     
  20. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    10,847
    Location:
    Canberra
    That's very outdated thinking. CPUs have moved forward at a pace far greater than RAID cards have. And if you're only doing 1 or 10 all you're doing is duplicating the data, not even any XOR calcs (which is what slows 5 and 6). You're also more likely these days to have plenty more spare RAM for cache than a RAID card will have.

    Depends on the platform you want to run. If you're not going to use the onboard RAID option, that leave a OS based options.

    Windows - no real choice here. (Server variants give you R5 as an option, Workstation variants only R1/10)
    Linux/BSD/Solaris etc. - lots of options (LVM, BTRFS, ZFS etc.) of various features, complexity, and speed.
     

Share This Page