1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Do people still use RAID cards? Whats the best atm

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by dmr, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. dmr

    dmr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    I use RAID. I love it. However trying to pickup some new cards and all the info out there seems to be dated from years ago.

    I've always used LSI MegaRaid /Adaptec cards, however is there particular brand/model people are recommending these days?

    Looking for ease of use during rebuilds and features. Will most likely use it for RAID1/RAID10 only.

    Looking for a RAID card that isn't proprietary. For example, if 2 HD's in a RAID-1 setup on a PC fail, I am still able to get the working HD out, stick it into a normal PC and use it alone... Right now, you can't do that with some brands as they use their own RAID software.
    :confused:
     
  2. McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I still like adaptec, but that's a big fat no to being able to put the HD's into a normal PC :upset:
     
  3. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,912
    Location:
    Canberra
    imo, their use case is pretty narrow now.

    I prefer HBA's and software defined storage.
     
  4. hairy

    hairy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    areca is a good high end brand but allas I had one fail.
    not much call for raid cards these days.
     
  5. fredhoon

    fredhoon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Is there a reason you "need" a hardware RAID card for RAID 1 or 10, do you want to boot off the RAID array?

    Softraid via a HBA or AHCI Data ports provides the flexibility you desire with minimal (if any) performance penalty for RAID1 / 10 compared to a hardware RAID card.


    Agreed.
     
  6. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,036
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Agreed. Haven't turned to hardware RAID in close to 10 years now for my own needs.
     
  7. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,766
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    For RAID10 I would just get a cheap Highpoint card. They double as HBAs when you're done with them too.
    LSI cards tend to have horrible performance in RAID10 mode but 0/1 are fine.
    But yeah, most motherboards do RAID10 just fine.
     
  8. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,856
    Location:
    Perth
    LSI 9261-8i with 2x Intel expanders in RAID6 (Server) & then LSI 9211-8i for RAID0 (Main system)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    dmr

    dmr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    I was under the assumption hardware raid1 was always faster than software raid1?
    whats the best raid software everyone is using now? I want to avoid using the M/B raid because if my mobo dies, I'll most likely need to source the same mobo to get my system back up again?
     
  10. fredhoon

    fredhoon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What are you using it for - Win desktop, linux desktop, server/nas?

    Setup softraid in the OS such that you're not tied to any hardware - e.g. in windows you can use dynamic disks (as long as you are not booting off them), in linux use mdadm or ZFS, for a NAS the world's your oyster.
     
  11. ^catalyst

    ^catalyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,894
    Location:
    melbourne
    Yeah if you want really fast local boot storage get and SSD, if you want a fast lump of accessible storage then a NAS with software raid is the go; can even rig it up over something faster than GbE if you really need it.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    dmr

    dmr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    desktop

    I think Im gonna use stablebit.com/DrivePool + Scanner
     
  13. fredhoon

    fredhoon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,643
    Location:
    Brisbane
  14. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,766
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    Or FlexRAID if you want a solution like UNRAID under Windows.
     
  15. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,067
    Location:
    Perth
    RAID-1 you generally can just stick into a normal PC if needed though.
     
  16. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,379
    Location:
    Canberra
  17. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,497
  18. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,497
  19. frenchfries

    frenchfries Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Proper megaraid cards do raid 10 quite well, it's only the little cards that don't do it properly.
     
  20. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    13,332
    Location:
    Canberra
    That's very outdated thinking. CPUs have moved forward at a pace far greater than RAID cards have. And if you're only doing 1 or 10 all you're doing is duplicating the data, not even any XOR calcs (which is what slows 5 and 6). You're also more likely these days to have plenty more spare RAM for cache than a RAID card will have.

    Depends on the platform you want to run. If you're not going to use the onboard RAID option, that leave a OS based options.

    Windows - no real choice here. (Server variants give you R5 as an option, Workstation variants only R1/10)
    Linux/BSD/Solaris etc. - lots of options (LVM, BTRFS, ZFS etc.) of various features, complexity, and speed.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: