Do wifi extenders or powerline adaptor?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by xc351, Jul 1, 2019.

  1. xc351

    xc351 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,481
    Well im getting my shed/bbq area built and as its out the back im guessing ill prolly need to boost wifi signal (use a powerfull triband router)

    Now use wise i have 2 wifi smokers (gmg daniel boone) and i have a strange feeling my temp probe is also wifi. plus guests will use network ect ect so doesn't need to support anything much no gaming/video ect ect but may use spotify and so forth.

    Just want a stable connection for grills

    Do i get a cheap powerline adaptor or wifi extender. I want 1 SSID as i hate trying to connect to inside/outside wifi connections as i walk arround

    I do have dlink dap-1650 from memory
     
  2. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,208
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    What is your budget for the entire thing??


    Do you have or wanting to have installed fixed cabling to this location??

    Then just get a decent WAP..

    Or look at a mesh system...
     
  3. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,040
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Yea was going to say if they are running power anyway see if they can run some ethernet too
     
  4. OP
    OP
    xc351

    xc351 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,481
    Well my smoker is still wifi also the issue is the house router modem is pretty darn hard to get cables to under house has been sheeted over. Plus not keen on running a 2nd conduit for data.

    My house gets covered my central WiFi router so adding mesh just to reach shed seems like over kill.

    Budget cheaper the better.
     
  5. SLIMaxPower

    SLIMaxPower Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    716
    Location:
    Perth
    powerline adapter will only work if on the same circuit.
    wifi extender consumes half the bandwidth to operate.
    ethernet through the roof, close to gpo for an old wifi modem/router.
     
  6. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,040
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Or another router with an out door directional antennae?
     
  7. alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,565
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I've had great success with Powerline - and they are pretty cheap these days. I had 4 Netcomm devices at one point - rock solid, no issues. My house had old wiring too.

    Since moved, and now I've upgraded to a pair of Unifi APs hard wired back to a Unigfi USG. Now if only I could get DL speed of more than 17Mbps from my garbage FTTN....

    However a mesh setup would be better than extenders, as sometimes they've halve the power. Where as a mesh setup has multiple radios :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: