Does anyone have experience with the Intel AXX6DRV3G?

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by deva_da_man, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. deva_da_man

    deva_da_man Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hi all,

    Has anyone had one of these? or have one?
    I'm thinking it would be perfect for a DIY nas setup.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    From what I've read, it's supposed to be use as a SAS backplane for a server, however I've also read that you can just use it for sata removable disk setup and just connect sata cables from the back of the unit to your mobo sata ports.
     
  2. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,772
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    qyestion is, how much and where are you going to put it? :)

    also remember it relies on the insane 5000RPM fans inside a server chassis to draw air though it to cool teh hdds.
     
  3. saba

    saba Evil Vizier

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,710
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That's a proprietory sized drivecage made for Intel's own cases. It'll likely be horrifically expensive. For us laymen, there's no difference between that and something like a Chenbro 5-in-3 drivecage.

    SAS drives cannot go into a SATA backplane.
    SATA drives can go into a SAS backplane.
     
  4. Rampage101

    Rampage101 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,034
    Location:
    Country NSW
    Altech can apparently get:

    Intel AXX6DRV3GEXP 6-drive hot-swap SAS/SATA backplane with expander for SC5400 and SC5299 (requires 2 SAS ports)
    Intel AXX6DRV3GEXP 6-drive hot-swap, expander, SATA/SAS backplane assembly. Requires 2 SAS ports from baseboard, ROMB card or RAID card and is compatible with SAS or SATA 3.5" hard drives. Includes: Backplane board, 6 drive carriers, 2 data cables, 6-drive bay, IPMB cable, common installation guide, SATA/SAS configuration label.

    And most SAS cages support both SAS/SATA

    will be around the $210+ mark.
     
  5. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,772
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    just get a norco 5in3 for $150.
     
  6. Jai

    Jai Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    742
    I have this in an intel server

    You can also buy a Fan that bolts on the back of it

    I am using normal SATA drives in it and plug 6 ports from my raid card into the back of it.

    Mounting in your own case will need some DIY.

    I think it cost me about $220 2 years ago

     
  7. one4spl

    one4spl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Jamboree Hts, Brisbane
    I've got one of these in an Intel SC5299DP case. You also need the adaptor kit that adds the clip-on 80mm fan mentioned above to work in this case.

    Theres also the EX (expander) version that will let you access all 6 drives via one or two SAS ports. You will need a SAS controller though. SATA drives work fine, assuming you get ones that are supported by the controller.

    It wont mount in a generic case without a lot of work. It just snaps into the Intel case.

    If you are getting a generic case then why not buy something like this, as used in this.
     
  8. rowan194

    rowan194 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,044
    For the OP's info, these units are rebadged under several brands, many use "SNT-..." model numbers. I use the 4-in-3 units (two fit into 4 bays, which is 6 HDs)

    If you have an ebay account look up the seller technology_directions, or search for SNT.
     
  9. sully_billy

    sully_billy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    $157.00 inc GST
     
  10. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,772
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    sos till more expensive then a conventional 5in3 hotswap norco.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    deva_da_man

    deva_da_man Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm really after a 6 disk setup though....

    So 5 in 3 is not ideal, nor are the 4 or 8 disk setups.....
     
  12. one4spl

    one4spl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Jamboree Hts, Brisbane
    todays 6 disk is tomorrows 8.

    I'm buying two more 1TB drives to put in my box.... but I'll have to put them in a 3 in 2 or just bolt them in brackets.

    fwiw, hotswap is a bit of a wank in home stuff... its not like you couldn't afford to shut it down to replace a dead drive.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    deva_da_man

    deva_da_man Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Brisbane
    yeah i sorta like the wank factor tho. not really for hot swapping as such, but for just having the disks in nice easy to remove caddies that don't require any tools to do a change.
     
  14. one4spl

    one4spl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Jamboree Hts, Brisbane
    You need a screwdriver to get the trays off the drives, unless you get something like this. I've got a few of the single drive ones and they work well.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: