Does anyone have NBN - what's it like?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by antipody, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. ice_cool

    ice_cool Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,849
    Location:
    Sydney
    its much easier to google - google the non-linear shannon limit. my paper was done 3 years ago but not published so there is no publication nor is it hosted online so the only copy would be at the university

    Also I am no longer at university so I would have to go in and login to get my paper, not even sure my login would still work.
     
  2. ACAlover

    ACAlover (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    461
    Because you have access to a reliable connection already, compared to most of Australia
     
  3. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    you've obviously not been stuck on optus cable..
     
  4. mrturkey

    mrturkey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Wodonga, VIC
    [​IMG]

    also patched BF3 on weekend, 6.5gb patch
    exceeding 12mb/sec at times
    completed in about 12/13 minutes
    :D
     
  5. Turbine

    Turbine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    WA
    NBN is amazing, I can see the NBN fiber dist box directly across the road from my house...but I'm 3 houses too far away to have it. The houses built 6months after mine...further away, up the street, and wrapping around my block are connecting to it.

    Been told it's not in the 3year rollout plan, NBN keep feeding copypasta like, "An analogy for connecting to any smaller number may be like attempting to serve a few premises from a high-voltage electrical transmission line or a single house from a six-lane freeway."

    From what I see all I need is a cable pull..
     
  6. GooSE

    GooSE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    6,679
    Location:
    Sydney
    Your house is probably planned to be on a different FDH.

    Unfortunately, they're not going to deviate from their design for your area for 1 house.
     
  7. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,364
    Location:
    Melbourne
    the NBN physical deployment largely follows the Telstra pit and pipe infrastructure in the ground. there's always going to be someone right on the end of a deployment boundary - or just past it.
     
  8. ACAlover

    ACAlover (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    461
    Have you spoken to someone higher up rather then just emailing them? There is a nbn rep on whirlpool named Scott would be worth whimming him especially if what your saying is true and you are right ontop of a dist box
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
  9. Turbine

    Turbine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    WA
    It sucks because I only built in that area because it was highlighted on the 3year plan, the whole area is...but there was no way to tell individual house/block numbers till now.
    Going to have to settle on my 20mb sync that's since dropped to 14mb as the area fills up..and performs like a 6-8mb connection with the congested exchange for a booming area running out of a demountable piggy backed from another exchange 20kms away.

    Been through a few fibre contractors in the area who went up through their chain to NBN contacts.
    They said the best option is to keep checking...almost tempted to put in a submission under another house number...at least it will get someone out to my place.
    (i'll give whingepool a try, they're usually pretty helpful)
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
  10. ACAlover

    ACAlover (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    461
    I editted my post give Scott a whim
     
  11. .Morphio

    .Morphio Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    327
    That is complete bullshit. As others have mentioned NBN has been rolled out or is in progress of being rolled out in areas where Cable already exists. Please stop talking crap.
     
  12. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    24,719
    you should get it online.

    EDIT:

    they're only rolling out to cable areas as the NBN currently stands. in the liberal NBN plan cable areas not currently being rolled out will be put to the back of the queue.

    at least that is how i understand it.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
  13. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,853
    Location:
    The Riff
    EDIT: I wont feed the troll.
     
  14. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    And?

    Since the limit applies to every other type of medium we have i am not sure what you are getting at by saying technology would have moved on, moved on to what? quantum entanglement?
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
  15. GooSE

    GooSE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    6,679
    Location:
    Sydney
    In the Liberal NBN, cable areas will not be in the queue at all.
     
  16. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,364
    Location:
    Melbourne
    and here I was thinking it was the other way around when it came to telecommunications.
     
  17. -=Ac3=-

    -=Ac3=- Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    Melb, Victoria
    [​IMG]

    Happy Days
     
  18. zaim

    zaim Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    Sunshine, MELBOURNE
    0ms fuck man.
     
  19. GooSE

    GooSE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    6,679
    Location:
    Sydney
    LOL at photo of monitor.
     
  20. -=Ac3=-

    -=Ac3=- Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    Melb, Victoria
    So much easier lol. Tapatalk on the phone is too convenient
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: