Does anyone have NBN - what's it like?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by antipody, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. Zultanna

    Zultanna (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    380
    Which is pointless because

    A: To get greater then a 1gb connection you need to either bond Nics with LACP on a compatible switch or use 10gb, both of which are very rare in consumer homes (especially 10gb)

    Its why anything more then 1gb at this stage is bordering on the pointless mark, 99% of people dont have the technology to support it.
     
  2. Munity

    Munity Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    because its not available / used often in australia dosen't mean it isn't in japan.

    You have to think, this fibre rollout should last at least 50 years, i would say 10gb would be at least the norm in 25 years.
     
  3. MrSnuffy

    MrSnuffy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Hobart
    The inlaws have iPrimus NBN 50/20

    Every time I've been at their place playing with it.... speedtest.net and connections to iPrimus FTP servers top out at 8mbps up and 8mbps down (can do 8mbps in both directions simultaneously).

    .... so it's suspiciously capped. Will need to speak with them about that soon :-S

    Can't exactly remember the latency... it was about 15ms from memory.



    Fibre got pulled under my street in November (Hobart CBD) .... still waiting on my letter (was supposed to have a service my March).
     
  4. dakiller

    dakiller (Oscillating & Impeding)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,896
    Location:
    Gippsland
    To determine the maximum theoretical limits of fibre, you get into using all the technologies that wireless uses to modulate signals onto carrier frequencies.

    All the physics that works on RF is possible on fibre, just the technology to do so is mostly out of our reach for the moment. Blinking lasers on and off is good enough for us now.

    The theoretical limit limits for a single strand of fiber, depending a bit on what numbers you use, is about 160,000,000 Gbps
     
  5. Acesi7

    Acesi7 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Melbourne
    :wired::wired:

    As far as 'bottlenecking' is concerned, how many users are likely to be using the same single fibre strand? Just estimate and to satisfy my curiosity.
     
  6. OldMate

    OldMate Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,422
    Location:
    Northern Beaches SYD
    I'll take 5 of them, thanks.
     
  7. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    Depends what part of the network you look at, southern cross cable carries a fair share of our international traffic and its only a pair ( 2 strands)


    Remember in things like the NBN fibre can be shared but its a different wavelenth so you are not really sharing it.
     
  8. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,302
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Are you unable to track what posts you are talking about?

    I said I wanted NBN for streaming.
    You suggested getting two adsl connections.
    I said that would be a dumb idea because the technology wouldn't support it.
    You come in and ask me why I want ADSL for streaming then?


    ???????????

    Fuck me
     
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,355
    Location:
    Melbourne
    no thanks, you do not sexually excite me.

    I suggest you might want to limit yourself to the possible, instead of dreaming. bonded ADSL is as good as you will get until the NBN becomes available, and given the state of the ALP, I don't like your chances of that happening any time soon.
     
  10. guido

    guido Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    109
    I went to Doctor the other day, he told me I need more fiber.

    I told him that Abbott won't let me have fiber.

    ergo: Abbott forcing unhealthy choices on population!!!!
     
  11. Humpty

    Humpty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    Geelong
    I install Opticomm in a number of different estates throughout Victoria, Using internode/iprimus/iinet test servers I usually around 120mbit/s or so download speeds in most estates

    At my own house, I'm on 100mbit 1TB plan with transact (iinet) Although I rarely see those speeds haha.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013
  12. -=Ac3=-

    -=Ac3=- Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    Melb, Victoria
    What speed do you average?
     
  13. Humpty

    Humpty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    Geelong
    #TO CLARIFY: I have cable to my house not fibre!

    At my place my average speed test is around 80mbit or so, I live a few kms from the exchnage tho so it makes sense
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  14. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,853
    Location:
    The Riff
    I thought fibre didnt matter about distance? (Speed wise)
     
  15. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    Waa? You install fibre but dont undsrstand how it works?
     
  16. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    24,703
    he probably just pulls the fibre.

    i doubt any of those guys know how it works.
     
  17. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,355
    Location:
    Melbourne
    pretty much. fibre certainly has transmission limits, but inside those it works regardless of distance.

    the reason is that fibre is a digital environment, whereas ADSL is analogue, and thus performance deteriorates as a function of the SNR that can be maintained. in a digital environment, if the SNR (or OSNR in the case of fibre) is adequate, the circuit works. as it approaches marginal OSNR, BERs become a potential issue, and may result in a slight drop in throughput due to resends at the higher OSI layers. when BERs exceed max tolerance, the circuit becomes unusable.
     
  18. Humpty

    Humpty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Location:
    Geelong
    Guys, I have cable to my house haha. I understand how fibre works, to my own house I only have an Iinet cable connection. haha

    Thanks aha
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  19. Acesi7

    Acesi7 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I though cable was irrespective of distance also? And that it was based on load.
     
  20. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    But even cable doesnt suffer from distance based SNR loss, if you had that SNR issues you would suffer from dropouts.

    You cable is only going to be 20-60m long, rest is fiber.



    edit: im guessing you have transact?
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013

Share This Page

Advertisement: