1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

REVIEW Dont throw away old socket 775 / AM2 HSF

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Kelvin, May 30, 2020.

  1. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,678
    Cleaning up my gear, I found a bunch of old ICeage 120 HSF
    (socket 775/939 / AM2+ HSF)

    https://www.techpowerup.com/review/3rsystem-ice-age/

    I think they were the fist direct heatpipe to CPU HSF developed..

    Did some investigating to see if I could use it on socket 115x w... no go..
    But AM2/AM3 hsf with clips are compatible with AM4..

    So.. Fired up the Asus C6H with a 3600..
    Clipped on the old HSF...
    Prime 95 at 75 degrees, (jet engine)
    Silent at idle.. (DC controlled) - had lost the included fan controller a long time ago..

    Lesson..

    Don't throw away those old CPU HSF.. they still could be useful..
     
    sammy_b0i and RnR like this.
  2. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,863
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    I've got a Thermaltake Big Typhoon on my AMD 754 PC. Put it on my 3900X you reckon :lol:

    Nah, CBF
     
    335 GT likes this.
  3. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,206
    I had one of them too. It was on my ex's A64 3000+ when we split and I never got it back. I don't begrudge it to her but sometimes I miss that cooler.
     
    philquad likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,678
  5. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    15,471
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Has there been any changes to AMD's clamp pressure recommendations for their cpu's over the years?
     
  6. kr0k

    kr0k Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,397
    I've got a PII X4 955 black stock HSF, would that work on a 3950x in the interim (until I buy a proper cooler) ?
     
  7. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,863
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    It has a reported TDP of 125W, but that's not a consistent metric in the industry and so might not have the same meaning today.

    If you do it, to be safe, go into the bios and enable eco mode. That will bring down the TDP max of the CPU.
     
  8. kr0k

    kr0k Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,397
    Turns out its not the stock cooler but rather a aftermarket coolermaster HSF from what I can only gather/guess is the H212. How does that compare? Trying to gather some info/specs on it but my google-fu is failing me lately as I can only find info on the revised versions of late.
     
  9. mtma

    mtma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,498
    IIRC 212 was good but at the time the Thermalright Ultra Extreme held the king of the hill of 120 air for a very long time. There were many attempts to dislodge its air cool performance crown back in the day.
     
  10. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    15,471
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Still running a Zalman CNPS9900 on my 1055t. 782grams. Mostly copper apparently. Show case honours sticker from the 2009 CES on the box, and yes uses the clips for mounting.
     
  11. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,789
    Location:
    Dark City
    I think it should as long as you mount it correctly.

    Anything Phenom II and onwards with the heatpipes was pretty decent in terms of cooler. They are basically the same cooler as the newer units just with newer fans.

    [​IMG]

    Ryzen cooler

    [​IMG]

    Phenom II cooler.

    These are expensive to make and are a quality cooler (unlike the intel junk, by 4790k cooler was a peice of shit and couldn't cool it at stock). I wouldn't be surprised if AMD moves to cheaper coolers for the 8 cores and less CPU's to make them more profitable. A 3700x for example will be able to be cooled by the standard 65w cooler (no heatpipe). With Ryzen 4000 being 15-30% more power efficient I would say they will only bundle the cheaper heatsinks with 8 cores.
     
  12. kr0k

    kr0k Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,397
    Mine looks like this (H212).

    upload_2020-6-18_20-49-15.png

    The problem is I cant get any sort of performance data on each cooler (i.e. an actual TDP figure) - just vague information. I only intend a mild overclock or just PBO as I think 16cores is enough for my uses. Too old for gaming and just want something I can throw tasks (i.e. a baby threadripper) - that and my computer is really friggin old. From my research it will need an AM4 mounting kit which also seems scarce. Thing is its only intended as a temporary cooler until I decide on something more permanent (AIO or one of those oversized Noctua coolers).
     
  13. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,789
    Location:
    Dark City
    Basically all of Ryzen uses less power than AM3 CPU's. Modern Ryzen 3000 cpu's barely overclock at all, so there isn't a need to have a massive cooler. 3950 thermally is pretty simular to a 1800x.
     
  14. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,280
    Location:
    nelson bay
    im still angry at my ex wife for making me leave
    she was a realy good cook

    otherwise i still got a old copper block thing on my amd, i used to love the volcanos
     
  15. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,206
    Well, to be honest I miss the Big Typhoon more than the ex but I was the cook :p.
     
  16. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,280
    Location:
    nelson bay
    at least with the heatsinks, if they had a controller you can turn them up when you want, unlike wives :lol:
     
    chook likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: