Doom vs Tetris: Battle of the Ports

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by elvis, Sep 8, 2020.

  1. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,269
    Location:
    brisbane
    oh i remember when this was a thing, i'm pretty sure i had a Palsonic tele that had inbuilt tetris.
     
  2. mkusanagi

    mkusanagi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Pretty sure I had the exact same brand too!
     
  3. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,835
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Yeah no doubt they're all running the same tuner/system IC that has this built in.. be cool to find what the IC it is for the purpose of the thread
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,054
    Location:
    Brisbane
    MUTMAN likes this.
  5. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,269
    Location:
    brisbane
    appropriate looks like it's being played by an old geezer with the shakes, lol.

    loved when it changed, VR stuff like this can be a lot of fun.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,054
    Location:
    Brisbane
    VR might soon be the only way future generations can experience the very short lived entertainment folks like you and I grew up with.
     
  7. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,556
    I see Sony Ericsson phones listed.
    Non Sony Actual Ericsson phones had Tetris too. Not sure if they’re architecturally the same or not, but well before the merger, I can confirm the T20 came with Tetris.

    Also, the best doom by far is the pregnancy test one.:lol:
     
  8. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,054
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Honestly I'm not even taking this seriously any more, and this is just very, very cool.

     
  9. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,054
    Location:
    Brisbane
    flain, FIREWIRE1394 and Pierre32 like this.
  10. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,269
    Location:
    brisbane
    haw haw haw doom and watch

     
    elvis, mAJORD and MUTMAN like this.
  11. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,673
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    MUTMAN likes this.
  12. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    66,269
    Location:
    brisbane
  13. Scorpio

    Scorpio Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    MUTMAN and JSmithDTV like this.
  14. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,054
    Location:
    Brisbane
    New Doom port to "Megadrive". Will try this out on a real MD plus non-everdrive flash cart on the weekend to see if it's legit, but so far this looks nuts.

     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  15. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,126
    Location:
    4109
    The MD core on MiSTer is apprently super accurate these days, I wonder if it'd play this port ?
     
  16. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,054
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Reading some chatter online, apparently it only works on a Mega Everdrive Pro (specifically that model/version flashcart). Sounds to me like they're not playing fair if that's the case.

    Haven't had a spare moment to try for myself.
     
  17. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,835
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    seems like it's running on the everdrive pro FPGA . The Music and wav sound effects are a bit of a clue I guess.
     
  18. Grant

    Grant Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    Wollongong
    Specifically that model/version flashcart has a Cyclone IV and an ARM MCU in it, so it's not like they can flip a switch to have it running on the MiSTer.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,054
    Location:
    Brisbane
    There's a download without the music, which I was hoping meant that the graphics at least were pure Megadrive hardware. But it looks to me like it's just a case of the old "cart CPU does all the work, Megadrive shows the picture straight off the buffer".
     
    mAJORD likes this.
  20. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,126
    Location:
    4109
    is that still a 'port' really ?
    i guess its a port to that fpga, but not to megadrive ??
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: