E6xxx dual core overclocking results

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by chainbolt, Jul 9, 2006.

  1. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo
    E6700 out of the box with standard Intel heatsink doing 4 GHz on air. I guess this CPU would go even higher, but the Intel 975XBX mobo I am using is limited to 50% FSB overclocking.

    CPU: E3700
    Board: 975XBX rev 304
    RAM: OCZ PC2 6400 4-3-2-8
    CPU voltage: 1.50 volt

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2006
  2. dukkie

    dukkie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,742
    Location:
    Melbourne
    how many volts did that take u? very nice results there chainy :) :thumbup:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo

    oops, for got to mention this: For 4 GHz it took 1.5 volt. None of the monitoring utilities I used like MB Monitor, CPU-Z, or Sandra showed that correctly.
     
  4. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Sweet chainy very sweet... for badaxe might want to read http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=2804 too :)

    I use ITK to make my own custom bioses to enable 1333fsb strap or to set higher default vcores etc.

    You can also use clockgen from cpuid.com to oc in windows on 1067fsb strap to >400fsb
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2006
  5. OP
    OP
    chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo
    :confused:

    On all 3 versions I have the 1333 Mhz option is enabled by default. I think I mentioned this already in my Presler review.

    In case you don't use a XE CPU, you simply can bridge 2 contacts with a pencil or conductive ink, and you have all oc options, including the 1333 Mhz FSB override, available. Takes 3 seconds. :p
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2006
  6. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    weird did you short oc debug jumper ?
     
  7. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    nice OC there..........can you run F@H clients at those settings
     
  8. RodneyJM

    RodneyJM (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Engaged in Silicon Wars !
    I knew, anyday now Chanbolt will come up with another great Intel overclocking thread for conroe.. :D

    Must be nice having 400mhz 1:1, can you run some PCMark series benchmarks ? :)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Here is Pipi


    [​IMG]
     
  10. RodneyJM

    RodneyJM (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Engaged in Silicon Wars !
    One instance of SuperPi. :confused: Come on, we know this baby can run dual anything.. :weirdo: ;)
     
  11. OP
    OP
    chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo

    NO, and that's the drawback. The only thing what really counts for me is FAH. And unfortunately until now Conroe is not shining in this department. I can run all sort of tests at 3.8 GHz, but to get the FAH client stable with aircooling I have to go back to 3.5 GHz. Considering that my 920 is running 2 FAH clients 100% stable at 4.2 GHz, there isn't much difference in productivity. :(
     
  12. OP
    OP
    chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I am running Presler XE and 1 Core Duo XE, and with these CPU by default you have all oc functions enabled on the 975XBX, including multiplier change.

    In order to have all oc functions available for other CPU you have to shorten the oc debug contacts, but that's a matter of 3 seconds.
     
  13. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    is it getting too hot or what is it............slap a decent HSF on it
     
  14. OP
    OP
    chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo
    tried this, this of course, with water I have 50 Mhz more, but that's it. I still have to find out what's the reason, but with both Conroes I am currently testing, I have the same "problem" (well, not really a problem): The oc like hell, but to get FAH stable I have to scale back frequency from the top achievable headroom far more than with all my Preslers.
     
  15. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    getting only 50Mhz more on water sound like a possible motherboard limitation

    there's something amiss there as most of the XS guys are priming around the same MHz they can do 32M SuperPI
     
  16. Twrecks

    Twrecks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Somewhere in time...
    Very, very interesting... :shock:
    Must keep an eye on this, maybe another cheap 920/930 after the price drops. ;)
    Would love to know how it would crunch QMD's. :D
     
  17. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    chainy download this software and post a screenshot on what happens in SPI load temps dual instance and F@H............i want to know what temps are doing between the two cores

    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=487676

    oh the software works for conroe and gives you the actual core temps taken off the CPU temp sensor for each core
     
  18. eva2000

    eva2000 DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,902
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    oh with XE ya get unlocked bios options... also folks reported if you use an XE cpu in badaxe before you put in a non-XE cpu the bios options remain unlocked for some folks heh

    most folks at >4ghz on conroe need at least 1.55-1.6v vcore for stability so probably why

    oh yeah chainy one known issue with badaxe and conroe so far is if you run sandra or everest or speedfan apps, it will reset vcore to default 1.242v ish in windows.. that would cause you grief heh
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2006
  19. OP
    OP
    chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Priming is not FAH. ;) FAH is more demanding, because of the great variety. As you know not all WU are identically demanding. You never know what is downloaded, a 56 poiter or a 800 pointer, and as the system is running unattended 24/7, it must be 100% stable for FAH. I can fold for example with 2 instances for hours at 3.8 GHz, but next morning I can see that the system has rebooted, and all work is lost.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2006
  20. OP
    OP
    chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    104,018
    Location:
    Tokyo
    well, :p why didn't you tell me earlier?
     

Share This Page