EBAY Auction Sniping Software >>> Which are you using?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by dinos22, Sep 8, 2006.

  1. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    well i was going to get some of that lovely snipping software that allows me to put a bid on ebay items and not sit in front of the PC to buy something.

    I'm interested to know what everyone here is using?

    dino
     
  2. Wet Sandwich

    Wet Sandwich Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Melbourne suburb near you
    Just use auctionsniper.com


    I haven't used it for a year or 2 but it is legit
     
  3. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2006
  4. Wet Sandwich

    Wet Sandwich Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Melbourne suburb near you
    Hmm, the site worked a few seconds before my post but doesn't work any more :confused:


    You get a few free to start with when it does work. edit: that site you linked to isn't the same



    I've never really used any others, just bidding works for me.
     
  5. Redefine

    Redefine Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Bayswater,Victoria
    I used to use http://www.jbidwatcher.com/ , which is a free java based auction sniper, you can set bid times, max values etc, I am guessing it still works. Havent needed to snipe off ebay for a long time now.

    Cheers.
     
  6. unixyk

    unixyk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    804
    Location:
    Australia
    I can vouch for this, it's awesome and I use it myself.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    omg i was fucking around with this software and the double click wasn't set for sniping and i just made a bid on something i don't really need lol

    any way to delete the bid LOL!
     
  8. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,410
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    I have a better way... Just bid when you find it if you can't be there at the end....
    Sniping is lame, and often doesn't get you anywhere special anyway.
     
  9. scruff

    scruff RIP

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Um, righto.

    Putting all your chips on the table straight away is a stupid idea. You're giving other people a chance to see your bid, consider their options, do some research, etc. Whereas if you bid in the last minute, its all-or-nothing. Also, you get the mum-and-dad users, or n00b-teens that will bid on something up to 99% of it's retail value or whatever. That's pretty dumb also.

    The more active an item gets, the higher teh price. If someone wants it and is willing to pay 100x what you are, and you let them think they're winning, by the time you snipe them, you get it for less than they are willing to pay.

    Sniping is a must for some auctions.

    You're lame.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    exactly

    i want to pay the least amount of dollars and cents...........idiots that jack up the price 4 days before the auction closes will always pay premium
     
  11. barney

    barney Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,599
    Location:
    Brisbane
  12. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,410
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    Yes... For some... So if it's important, wait for it, and bid...

    Am I? Thanks for that info...
     
  13. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    thanks VERY much for your suggestion this software is great




    actually i do have a small issue with GUI but functionalitywise it is excellent.....in tems of GUI when you select an auction in the list of ones for sniping due to highlighting it is hard to see the figure in snipe and i have to close app and restart without selecting any fields to have a good view what's there at XXX Max price

    i just tested with 5 seconds to go....worked perfectly
     
  14. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    i used to use this one

    it's not bad but i think you're also limited to 10seconds or more......and this one is good cause you don't need to PC to be on :)
     
  15. getafix123

    getafix123 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    2097
  16. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,705
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    i just use proxy bids and thats it
    choose a dollar figure and stick to it otherwise its just like the casino...one dollar more one dollar more :)

    personally i see this as being the same as campers...its NOT a legitamate strategy! :D
     
  17. hui

    hui Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    846
    Have to try this ;)
     
  18. gta007

    gta007 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Blackburn 3130
  19. dairyboy

    dairyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    554
    +1 auctionsniper.com

    If you're bidding on something that your life depends on it, you can pretty much tell bidnip.com to fark off as it consistently 'forgot' to place the bid even when I set it to bid 30 seconds before the auction ends rather than the usual/industry standard 10 seconds.

    I think there's some opensource stuff that you can run on your comp to do it, cbf'ed setting them up and use them..
     
  20. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329

Share This Page