1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

eBay Replacement UPS Batteries... Yes or No?

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by Nasha, Jun 15, 2018.

?

Would you buy 12v UPS batteries off eBay for ~50% cost?

Poll closed Jun 22, 2018.
  1. Yes - They're perfectly fine

42.9%
  2. Yes - They will be slightly inferior, but good value

28.6%
  3. No - Stick with a known company, it's worth it

14.3%
  4. No - And stay away from Jaycar too

14.3%
  5. Hell no - eBay is full of cheap dodgy crap especially batteries

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Nasha

Nasha Member

So, one of my batteries in my UPS is cactus and i was tossing up replacing the UPS with a new cheap and nasty, or replacing the batteries...

Had a quick eBay surf rather than just shooting to Jaycar, and they can be had for half the price... Easy call right?! I have no experience with these batteries & eBay... I'm well versed with lithium batteries, and i know there's plenty 'too good to be true' items on eBay in regards to lithium cells and battery banks, so it naturally made me question;

1. Has anyone had any anecdotal experience with eBay 12v SLA batteries... Am I paying for a grossly inferior product? (Personally, the batteries i got from Jaycar last time didn't impress me, they weren't a common brand name, build quality was ordinary, and it is certainly inside of 2yrs i had a failure)

2. Currently I have 12v 9Ah batteries, with 12Ah available in the same form factor for only slightly more cost... Is this travelling further down the inferior product line?

3. 90% of eBay batteries state they're AGM... Jaycar don't offer low capacity AGM batteries... AGM batteries are generally more expensive than flooded SLA's, but in my understanding a superior product on all comparable fronts? (Couldn't find any reasons not to use an AGM) - Is this the 3rd and final trip into a piece of crap battery purchase?