Edinburgh AirShow - First Airshow. What to take/tips?

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by holdennutta, Oct 16, 2019.

1. holdennutta

holdennutta Member

Hi all,

I'm going down to SA in Nov for my first airshow in about 25 years... What's photographing like at these events? I'm not a pro obviously but I'd hope to be able to find somewhere to get some interesting shots...

My gear options are:
    1. Panasonic G9 + 12-60mm f2.8-4 and 100-400mm f4-6.3. Plus battery grip for full day shootiness.
    2. EOS R + RF 24-105mm f4 and 70-300mm f4-5.6 IS II USM on adapter.

The G9 has a faster burst rate and maybe better AF than the EOS R plusbetter video if I want video also. Lighter kit overall but I'm concerned that 100-400mm lens might be too long? Is 200-800mm equiv fields of view going to be too much for planes in flight or am I misremembering how close anything moving will be to the crowd?

EOS R is new and full frame goodness! But not sure if 300mm will be long enough... So coupled with my point about the 100-400mm lens I clearly just don't know what to expect lol.

Any tips and pointers?

2. phreeky82

phreeky82 Member

G9 + 100-400 plus EOS R + 24-105

Admittedly I don't know a thing about Panasonic gear, but I'm assuming that the 100-400 is a quality bit of kit. 200mm equiv FoV is hardly too long for all but the rarest occasions IMO, and I'm also assuming that the G9 + 100-400 has the better AF between the 2 combos.

Also bring water, sunscreen, hat, snacks, etc.

Without knowing what you've shot before, it's hard to give tips/pointers. Props/rotors = control your shutter, jets = go to town with a faster shutter, practice your panning particularly foot placement (direct feet toward end of a pass so you don't have to shift them mid-pan). And enjoy it!

3. OP
    OP
    holdennutta

holdennutta Member

Oooh! These are great points and I'd either have not thought of them myself or realised waaaaaay too late lol. Thank you :)