1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

EK-XRES 140 REVO D5 RGB - Replace RGB Strip

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by mctrix, Sep 11, 2021.

  1. mctrix

    mctrix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    ACT
    Hey all,

    I have an EK-XRES 140 REVO D5 RGB which the colour in the LED strip isn't consistent.

    It seems to have gotten worst over the ~18months of running so i want replace it.

    I have seen a post on Reddit that EK will replace it but in the chance they don't has anyone experienced replacing this strip?

    Once you unscrew the res out of the body of the pump is the strip easy to take out or is it glued?

    https://www.ekwb.com/shop/digital-rgb-led-strip-100mm would this be the replacement part?
     
  2. juzz86

    juzz86 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Forth, NW TAS
    Nah, that's a (newer) 3-pin 5V aRGB one mate, from EK's website the 140 REVO uses 4-pin 12V RGB.

    In saying that, if it fits properly all it'll do is convert the res from 12V RGB to 5V aRGB - you just need to make sure you put it in a 3-pin header and not a 4-pin one, or you'll pop it :thumbup:

    Take the RGB strip out and measure the length and width. If it matches the 5V one, you're golden. PCCG have them in-stock locally apparently.

    From the stock photos, it looks a little bit thinner than a bog-standard RGB cable just going on the LED module size - but that may be just photography too.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mctrix

    mctrix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    ACT
    Thanks for the reply,

    It looks to come out ok through a slot in the back of the pump. I just need to buy a replacement
     
    juzz86 likes this.
  4. juzz86

    juzz86 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Forth, NW TAS
    Awesome. Is it 3-pin or 4-pin?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    mctrix

    mctrix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    ACT
    4 pin but will do as you suggested and measure for the 3 pin 5v replacement.

    I will drain one of my loops this coming weekend to verify
     
    juzz86 likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: