Electronics : Timer

Discussion in 'Modding' started by SteakTheMooCow, May 9, 2005.

  1. SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    Last edited: May 9, 2005
  2. orbitaudio

    orbitaudio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    929
    Location:
    Melbourne
    what do u mean next step? do u want a counter or a timer?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    um... I need a timer and something else actually lol...

    I need to run something constantly from the time the FIRST of NINE switches has been pressed.

    All the switches are Momentary On SPST switches. The first switch will trigger an LED and a movement. The second will do the same, until all 9 are done. then if the correct button is pressed, a series of LEDs will come to life... Does this make sense?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    Ok, I'm basically going to wire 9 NE555's to 9 different electronic components... as I need their secondary function to shut off once enabled...

    But I also need a PCB that will enable a device AFTER the previous device has recieved power...

    If Device1 is on
    Turn Device2 on
    If device2 is on
    Turn device3 on
    ... etc.

    Like that.

    And once it reaches
    if device9 is on & userinput is funkykey
    turn blueleds on
    wait 60
    turn blueleds off
    turn device1 off
    turn device2 off
    turn device3 off
    turn device4 off
    turn device5 off
    turn device6 off
    turn device7 off
    turn device8 off
    turn device9 off
    end if

    Once again, I do know how to program this. I just REALLY do NOT want to. I like my com-ports and I still use them (cisco router ;))
     
  5. Ultra PeePi

    Ultra PeePi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Perth
    i'd be willing to say that you're not gonna need 9 555 timers, but then your description is kinda vague. From what your describing I would think you'd be wanting some kind of logic circuit combined with a counter to get the correct time delay from the pulse train from the 555 timer.
     
  6. hlokk

    hlokk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Location:
    WA
    Perhaps you could program a pic chip or something? Not sure if it would be more expensive, but it should be easier.

    What specifically are you going to use it for, perhaps theres a better or a different way to do it? turn device1 on is a bit vague :p
     
  7. phextwin

    phextwin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,221
    Location:
    Geelong Velocity:Unknown
    A synchronous counter using JK-FF perhaps?

    D-FF might work too.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2005
  8. OP
    OP
    SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    Once I hit this kind of electronics I'm lost ;)

    But yeah, a logic circuit looks the way to go...

    What I want is this.

    Action B cannot happen before Action A is completed.
    Action C cannot happen before Action B is completed.

    etc. But I need them all to do (essentially) the same thing, in different places...

    Ok, I'm attempting to get chevrons to lock around a Stargate ;)
     
  9. orbitaudio

    orbitaudio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    929
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i imagine you could make the circuit this way,

    but its still 10am (very early) so im not thinking 100% atm

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    edit: just tested the circuit, and it works for me (used only 6 leds though)

    personally i would use a microcontroller though - but a bit of digital design in the morning seemed like a challenge
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2005
  10. OP
    OP
    SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    mmmm I kinda get that (but also don't at the same time)...

    I get the flipflops (FFx)... but whta flipflop is it you're using?

    secondly, my 4 cables are

    12V, ground, ground, 5V

    So... how owuld I set that up? (Use a resistor on the 12V line maybe?)

    I dunno...

    :)

    Then the next question is: What can I use to open/close the chevrons on the gate? (I need a latch that opens then closes ;))
     
  11. orbitaudio

    orbitaudio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    929
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i haven't specified which flip flops, u can choose what ever D flip flops u want. FFx just means like Flip Flop 1, Flip Flop 2, ...

    nah, u use 5V and ground. You supply 5V and 0V to power the flip flops (usually you will get several (4,6,8,12~) in one IC) then u connect 5V to all the points i marked as 5V, and 0v (ground) to all the ground points on my circuit.

    ummm i have seen stargate, but not sure what u mean. Are you actually making the cheverons open and close? i need some more detail. i thought all the cheverons were open to start with, and just closed when they got in place.



    EDIT: having a look at some flip flops, i would probably use some 4013, 74HC74, 74LS74 ICs. The resistor in series with the LED may have to be changed, caus u just put in a 250R. It may have to be increased, or the design changed a bit so that the current goes into the flip flop (sinks) rather than comes out of the flip flop (sources).
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2005
  12. OP
    OP
    SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    yeah, they do lol, my bad... but I'm going to need a latch for it..

    (there are so many easier mods I swear!)
     
  13. dakiller

    dakiller (Oscillating & Impeding)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,016
    Location:
    3844
    to have the ff's sinking the led's current, run them off the Q' output
    have the 5v go into the resistor then to the led with the cathode pointing to the Q' pin
    10mA should work well enough that way from memory
     
  14. Goth

    Goth Grumpy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,228
    Location:
    /dev/null
    You could use Solenoids (Jaycar) to actuate the chevrons.

    Or simply do a simpler "solid state" Atlantis-style gate :)
     
  15. OP
    OP
    SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    atlantis is looking damn good right now =\

    hell, I'm looking into about 9 different case mods at once, I want to build a unique PC, but not go THAT far ;)
     
  16. Ultra PeePi

    Ultra PeePi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Perth
    Just how functional is this intended to be?

    If you want it to look and act the way like a stargate out of a show, I'd say you should go for a cheap microcontroller with a small amount of memory. With the situation where symbols of a gate address are selected first then the gate proceeds to light up the chevrons, would mean that you'd need to store the symbol and order of each dialed symbol. With a stargate having 39 symbols, you'd need 6 bits to represent a single symbol plus 3 bits to represent their numerical order ( assuming it's a 7/8 symbol gate address ) which adds up to needing 63 bits to represent the input. Thats alot of flip flops....
     
  17. OP
    OP
    SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    the DHD is simple. Its the gate I need fixed. The chevrons light up but they don't lock the glyphs/symbols down... ;)
     
  18. OP
    OP
    SteakTheMooCow

    SteakTheMooCow (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,069
    Oh, and as to how functional it is: I'd love it to work so I can stick my hand into my PC and get a nice cool refreshing beverage from the Azgard, but I don't think I have the time or budget to get it that far functional ;)
     
  19. dnkroz

    dnkroz New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    893
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    the chevron locks on the stargate behave differently to the chevron lights, which might be why designing a circuit is confusing.
     
  20. Kamikaze47

    Kamikaze47 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    Perth

Share This Page

Advertisement: