EoP / Powerline gear questions

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Stooge007, Feb 3, 2016.

1. Stooge007

Stooge007 Member

hi all

i'm new to the whole EoP scene, so i may ask some dumb questions (so bear with me pls) :lol:

moved into a bigger house, and wifi doesn't seem to cut the mustard

house is sadly not wired up with Cat 5 either

so to get my TV/entertainment stuff connected to the net, thought i'd go down the EoP route

i ended up buying a D-Link DHP-1321 starter kit from MSY - http://www.msy.com.au/network-device/12675-d-link-dhp-1321-powerline-av-router-starter-kit.html ($49 + delivery seemed a good price???)

the package is basically a DHP-1320 Powerline Router + a DHP-306AV

got it all set up now (TP-Link wifi modem router -> network cable -> DHP-1320 (set in RT router mode) . . . . DHP-306AV behind the TV), working pretty sweet, but have a couple of questions:

1) the DHP-306AV doesn't seem to like being plugged in to my Belkin Pure AV Isolator (surge protector - this one: http://shop.jbhifi.co.nz/computers-...in-pureav-series-8-way-isolator-3m-cord/62061), it has various filters built in apparently.

plugged straight into any other power point, connection works fine

are surge protectors usually a problem?

2) the DHP-306AV only give me one network socket. to get more, i believe my options are:

(a) get a cheap switch (like this one - https://www.kogan.com/au/buy/netgea...7aoX1qpU4EzjJIItwOPkFNP3SG0-wuMDy4RoCk_vw_wcB)

or

(b) buy another DHP-1320 and run it in Access Point mode, which should link up with the existing DHP-1320 running in Router mode? this will then give me 3 network points, right?

any comments or suggestions to improve things appreciated (even the comments that D-Link are garbage, but for $50 it was worth a try!)

cheers

2. fR33z3

fR33z3 Member