1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

EOS 5D Mark III 22MP full-frame DSLR

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by Jackolow, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. noxious_nasties

    noxious_nasties New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
  2. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Do you reckon we will see prices change between preorder and availability? Will the price change much from now to 2 months time?

    More copypasta from my whirlpool post:

    http://www.eglobaldigitalcameras.com.au/canon-eos-5d-mark-iii-body-only-digital-slr-camera.html

    eGlobal too. $3519.

    Prices are pretty tough.

    If I was going grey market, it would be DigitalRev. Better warranty/dealings than any of them and guaranteed to not have any import duties.

    Very tempted to go for CameraPro tho.... only $300 (or less than 10% more) for aus stock, which for a brand new, highend body, to me is essential.
     
  3. bugeyes

    bugeyes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,472
    Location:
    Location:Location:[BNE]
    Beats why anyone would buy one before it's been thoroughly tested and debunked? Shit I don't even buy an operating system until the first service pack come out. Is there some feature that I'm missing that makes this camera indispensable?
     
  4. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Cameras have warranty/are firmware upgrade able?

    I'd say for a company thats been making DSLRS for years, shipping out a professional grade camera, they'd be doing a fair lot of R&D/testing before shipping.

    (That's just you being weird about the OS things, never really had an issue with an OS that made it unusable - case in point I used vista when it was still called longhorn, used 7 while it was m1 and using 8 since it was dev preview....)
     
  5. lionman

    lionman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,880
    Location:
    Perth,WA,Earth
    lol, this is canon not microsoft.
     
  6. bugeyes

    bugeyes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,472
    Location:
    Location:Location:[BNE]
    I just like to know exactly what I'm getting before I start handing out the folding stuff.

    It would have to do something significantly better image quality wise than the 5DMk2, and until there are multiple reviews available you're just punting.

    I'll probably buy another second hand mk2 before I even consider a Mk3.
     
  7. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,772
    Location:
    Nailsworth SA
    Except it doesn't - sure, it SHOULD, but modern autofocus and higher frame rates are reason enough for some folks to upgrade.

    ie. for those using a 5DII who've spent the last 2 years thinking "I can't afford a 1D, and the 7D sure would be nice if it wasn't crop", the 5DIII is an interesting package.
     
  8. meeetch

    meeetch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Location:
    Wollongong
    I pretty much held off getting a 5D2 just because of the auto focus :) After using a 7D i just couldn't justify paying that much on a 5D2 with such a bad AF in comparison. So many time's i had though 'if only the 7D wasn't crop' :p
     
  9. grundy

    grundy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yep, I went 7D instead of 5D Mk2 last year because of the above.

    The Mk3 fixes everything I didn't like in the Mk2...

    I'll be buying one very soon!
     
  10. bubblegoose

    bubblegoose Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,508
    Location:
    Molesworth - Tasmania
    And then there's someone like me. Who is going to upgrade JUST for the shutter sound. :Pirate:
     
  11. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Argument for me pretty much points to the mk3 over the mk2. Better iso perf, better af/fps, better body, dont have to spend $500 on cf cards, etc etc etc.

    In any case, I can't really see it moving much in price between now and when I go travelling in late June?

    Sure it might go to ~$3.5k, but yea, probably stay around there for a while.

    Now to decide if its worth waiting and claiming on GST or not. Or hell even waiting just until first stocks arrived and see if the price moves at all haha.

    My point was, it's a Canon professional body thats the follow up to one of their best selling bodies. It's going to be tested to the nines. I can't see them releasing it with any big issue that couldn't be easily fixed by a firmware upgrade. Look at all the features brought to the 5D2 by firmware upgrades anyways.

    This. :thumbup:
     
  12. Zardoz

    Zardoz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    Melbourne
    TL;DR, anyone got some comparisons between the 5D III and the 1D X?

    I can't get a firm date on the 1D X yet and the 5D III appears to solve my AF issues I've got with the 5D II. Is the metering improved like the 1D X? Can't seem to figure it out but signs point to no :(
     
  13. nisstrust

    nisstrust Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,363
    Location:
    Outbush, NT
    Think it's missing the colour matrix metering that's it .
     
  14. FranchiseJuan

    FranchiseJuan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,173
    Location:
    Somewhere Exotic
    I think for you the 5D3 will be enough. Spend the extra on lenses.
     
  15. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,718
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The 7D did in body IR triggering of speedlights.. Does the 5D 3 do this? I havn't heard so.

    Seems a step backwards to me?
     
  16. Nafe

    Nafe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,064
    Location:
    North Shore, Sydney
    That would've been via the onboard flash wouldn't it?
    No onboard flash on the 5D-series so....... :confused:
     
  17. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,718
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Was it? I thought it was in the body, ala the nikon way of doing it- not via the onboard flash?

    not sure to be honest
     
  18. Nafe

    Nafe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,064
    Location:
    North Shore, Sydney
    I had assumed it was via the flash. But I haven't paid attention to that feature for a while now, so I may be wrong.
     
  19. bubblegoose

    bubblegoose Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,508
    Location:
    Molesworth - Tasmania
    Yeh it used the onboard flash :thumbup:
     
  20. ^catalyst

    ^catalyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    12,018
    Location:
    melbourne
    Nikon use the on-board flash, to shoot IR, to trigger speedlites.

    Canon does the same.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: