1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

ESX Storage device issues

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by [AFX]Northy, Sep 30, 2010.

1. [AFX]Northy

[AFX]Northy Member

Hey Guys,

I have a HP DL160 G6 that i have put ESX4 on. The install runs through fine but after a put a VM or 2 on i start getting the following error.

"Lost connectivity to storage device
    naa.600508b1001052395358370200. Path
    vmhba0:C0:T0:L0 is down. Affected datastores: "
    ", "datastore1", "Hypervisor1", "Hypervisor2",
    "Hypervisor3".
    error

HP DL160 G6, 12 GB ram, 2 x 1TB in RAID 1. The system goes unresponsive for about 20-30 sec and then comes back. I have looked this up and pretty much all the info refers to iSCSI but these drives are local.

Im pretty new to the VMware game so any help you guys can give me would be great.

2. 4wardtristan

4wardtristan Member

seeing as its a G6 im gonna assume you got it new - did you get it new?

3. OP
    OP
    [AFX]Northy

[AFX]Northy Member

yeh its brand new.

4. lavi

lavi Member

see if they have fw update for the controller my guess is that the controler is shit (it is a DL160, i gather they are like the ML110 with crap controllers). You could get a proper smart array controller for it :)

5. OP
    OP
    [AFX]Northy

[AFX]Northy Member

I have narrowed it down to the 2nd channel on the controller, Now comes the hard part. Does anyone know the number for HP Care? I forked out for the 4hr 24/7 hardware support but I have no idea what the number is.

6. yoda123

yoda123 Member

Uh it's not on a sticker on the case of the server ? Or are you not on location.

I can get it tomorrow for you otherwise :Paranoid:

7. OP
    OP
    [AFX]Northy

[AFX]Northy Member

The number they give you on the case is 9-5:30pm. There isn't any after hours numbers.

8. tonner78

tonner78 Member