1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Ethereum mining rig suggestions

Discussion in 'Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Mining' started by tarkadahl, Nov 10, 2020.

  1. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,813
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    You couldnt pull 8300w off a standard 2400w single circuit....
     
  2. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,813
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )

    Did you consider selling off the 2060's at current prices and buying even scalper priced 3070/80/90's for better density/efficiency or too even just recoup the investment?
     
  3. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,382
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    35C5DE37-C4D8-46F4-8067-79C24BB8760E.jpeg

    I like rgb
     
  4. ben699

    ben699 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    393
    so how do you find that many, as nothing seems in stock , use a bot, or just pay the scalper price, or go to the distributers, as some one who is wanting to get more in to it, any suggestions ?
     
  5. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,813
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Turn back the clock 5 months :D

    Nice PiNoY rgb adds 10mh per card i am told :leet:
     
    PiNoY likes this.
  6. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,345
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah I am talking about how much you can pull from the street on a single phase house. 3 Phase you can go ape shit but need new meter etc.

    I recently installed an electric flash water heater that runs on a 40Amp circuit. The unit is slightly bigger than a ream of a3 paper yet it can pump 10KW of power through it. It is a single phase. A new circuit put in for that little beast.

    Induction stove pulls 4+KW, oven about 7KW.
     
  7. duck_boy

    duck_boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,616
    Location:
    Southern River 6110
    I have been playing around with the new feature in T-rex 20.04 miner --lock-clock. My result so far my power draw drop ~80w gain ~2mhs, there is still room for improvement. My 2060su use only 95w lol. No need to use msi afterburner any more.
    lclock.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2021
  8. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,382
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    So you set individual clocks per gpu?
     
  9. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7,209
    i really regret not building a 2nd mining rig and taking it to work where the power is free (and buy free i mean not paid for by me)
     
  10. duck_boy

    duck_boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,616
    Location:
    Southern River 6110
    Yes you can set it individually or one as a whole. Use
    --lockclock-clock 1050,1300,.....
    --pl 55,60,....
    --mclock 1200,...
    --fan 75

    If you only write fan 75 means all fan with run at 75. You have to right 1 or have to set all GPUs.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2021
  11. toopy28

    toopy28 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Gammanville
    Sounds essentially like the same results you get from HiveOs. 2060 will settle anywhere from 80-95w, I find that the ones running hotter use more. I don’t set a power limit and let the card find its own, which is below the power limit window in the cards bios.
    This over 31 2060’s saved 1.2Kw/h in power. The same thing happened with most of the other cards.

    gminer also introduced a —lockclock option a few updates back.

    And yes most of those cards were bought before the shortage really took off. When a 2060 was $499.

    Had a couple of issues with a faulty BTC-T37 mobo and a faulty 3090. Plus some issues with china made molex to pcie splitters (specifically melty cables)

    Doing this again I would only buy the BTC-s37 mobo (at this stage when I started it didn’t exist so something better could be out)

    For power only use
    8pin to 2x 8pin,
    cpu eps to 2x 8pin,
    and as the btcs37 doesn’t use the atx connector 24pin atx to 2x 8pin.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2021
  12. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    The real question is are you going to be able to make the money back on that stupid amount of cards before the ethereum fork lol.
     
  13. toopy28

    toopy28 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Gammanville
    Eip-1559 in july doesn’t stop mining, it just slightly reduces mining returns.

    Ether will be mineable until Eth2.0 is fully migrated, suggested late next year but they have been saying that for 4 years.

    There are so many people invested in mining that everyone will move to the next most profitable coin and it’s value will take off.

    The rig is not far from full return, if Ether had stayed at near $6k each it would already been in profit.

    When I say I finished this week, it was more finalising the last system that was waiting parts from china.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2021
    PoW_Cerberus and PiNoY like this.
  14. duck_boy

    duck_boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,616
    Location:
    Southern River 6110
    I am talking about 2060super not the vanilla 2060. That card run 125w 44.6mhs now 44.56mhs 95w. It runs a cool as a cummber.
     
  15. toopy28

    toopy28 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Gammanville
    Plain 2060’s did the same thing, 125w down to 85-90. Obviously only at 34mh
     
  16. duck_boy

    duck_boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,616
    Location:
    Southern River 6110
    The plain 2060 already at 83w without absolute core clock, you didn't tune your properly lol.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2021
  17. illdrift

    illdrift Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Perth
    Ethermine has enabled payouts on polygon

    https://ethpool.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/8000093699-polygon-guide

    I've switched with my 3 cards. Can be handy for small miners, as gas fees are fractions of a cent.

    You can also do some other fun stuff while you're there, like start earning ETH interest on your ETH holdings. Though do some research into it first, polygon is it's own blockchain (sidechain?), so don't go transferring stuff to an ETH address or it won't show up.
     
  18. Crosspeen

    Crosspeen Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Altona Meadows, Melbourne
    Trying to signup with the bitfly Support Portal, and it keeps telling me Captcha verification failed. I'm not a robot, promise!!

    Since changing my payout method to Polygon, my payouts aren't showing in my wallet.

    Edit: Finding the whole thing a bit confusing, so I might just go back to the way it was and just get my payouts on the 28th of each month
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2021
  19. illdrift

    illdrift Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Perth
    What wallet are you using? I think metamask is commonly recommended. It's easy to jump across blockchains (ETH/BSC/POLYGON), once you get used to it. You end up using the same address on all blockchains.

    You can view your funds at https://explorer-mainnet.maticvigil.com/address/[ReplaceWithYourWalletAddress]/tokens
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2021
  20. AERO

    AERO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,141
    Location:
    albury 2640 nsw
    Can’t wait for my next .2 eth payout this evening, get it roughly every 4 weeks or so with my 180mhs. Ultimately can’t wait til I’ve got over 1 eth total :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: