Etrian Odyssey

Discussion in 'Nintendo Consoles' started by .Radiant, Jun 10, 2012.

1. .Radiant

.Radiant Member

Thought this deserves its own thread.

Etrian Odyssey 3

Metacritic: EO1, EO2, EO3

Very cool set of games if you like the old dungeon crawling and the turnbased combat. Ridiculously hard(cheap) as well. I'm currently playing the 3rd game, and finally beat the prelude mission, which only took me 5 deaths and remaking my party a couple times.

If you're looking to give your (3)ds some loving, i'd definitely recommend getting into this series.

2. xsive

xsive Member

I started playing through EO1 a few months ago. I picked it up for a song ($10 from JB; new!) and on a whim. Wasn't sure what to expect but I was stoked to discover it's a total throwback to classic RPGs like Wizardry and Shining In The Darkness. The cartography system is my favourite bit I think -- I still love making my own maps :p

It's definitely not a game for everyone though; EO1 kicks your ass within seconds of entering the first floor of the dungeon and does it again every time you go down a level. You also can't mess about too much with creating your characters. If you try for a balanced build for instance you end up with very weak characters.

3. xsive

xsive Member

Oh! Forgot to mention: EO4 is coming out soon in Japan! Hopefully we'll see a European release not long afterwards.

Also, F.O.E.! :D :D :D

Last edited: Jun 11, 2012
  4. OP
    OP
    .Radiant

.Radiant Member

Game is currently kicking my ass :(

2nd stratum, its quite easy to walk into a train of FOE's in a path that overlaps with another set of FOE's. 6 at a time isn't fun to deal with.

5. xsive

xsive Member