EVGA EVBOT, your friendly OC hero!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by Team.AU, Jan 13, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Team.AU

    Team.AU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    just as pete has indicated , this unit can control not only evga vga cards but also any brand that uses volterra, here is gigabyte vgas controlled by the evbot

    this really is a valuable OC tool, and two wires gives you nice control over your vga card

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    made a few connectors to go directly into the evbot cords so as not to break my evbot for other uses
    [​IMG]
     
  2. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,037
    Location:
    3132
    how much are these things?

    edit- evga site lists for US$100
     
  3. AussieTemplar

    AussieTemplar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,435
    Location:
    Eastern Suburbs Sydney
    Are they 5870 2GB's?!?!
     
  4. BEAVISNEO

    BEAVISNEO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You have 3 hardcore graphics cards there.... and yet you use a VGA connector :wired:
     
  5. Eagertman

    Eagertman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    863
    Location:
    Brisbane
    DVI only matters for those who do professional work (image editing, colour accuracy). VGA is perfectly fine for the masses, you aren't really missing out on anything.
     
  6. snappy1

    snappy1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,165
    Location:
    Benching
    there are reasons behind this, but i doubt you will get an answer lol
     
  7. BEAVISNEO

    BEAVISNEO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not true. I defiantly see differences, even in average desktop PC's.
     
  8. n3wbi379

    n3wbi379 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,600
    Location:
    Melb
    James can explain how this tool actually works???
     
  9. eastley

    eastley Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Where is the bridge between the cards?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Team.AU

    Team.AU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    okay haha, people think i am doing it for a reason, basically with my monitor i cant get the picture to fit the screen properly with the dvi cable, with the vga cable it all works sweet and i dont care about picture quality for benching...

    regarding the bridges, i only put the vgas in there for photos so no bridges on there haha

    well basically this cool will control the voltages on the cards... any vga that runs a volterra vr can be controlled with this tool with a 2 wire solder... this is an advantage to me when i am benching 2-3 cards, especially on subzero as i can adjust things really quickly without software...

    for example, you might want to bench 3d06, where in the first graphics test you need 1.5v to pass a benchmark but its too much for gt2, you need to drop the volts.. you can do this on the fly..this tool is especially important if you are benching the top end, where you might need to change cpu clocks, gpu clocks, and voltages throughout a benchmark to maximize the score..

    if you have an evga board then this device brings on a whole new purpose, you can control everything down to cpu skews and a large range of voltages.. so you could on a classified board, adjust gpu voltages and also cpu voltages and clocks throughout the benchmark... perhaps you want to run 3dmark06 graphics tests at 4.5ghz but down to 4.3ghz for cpu test then you could do that...

    of course 3dmark06 is heavily cpu bottlenecked with multiple graphics cards so gaining that extra 200mhz for the graphics tests would really bring your score up, the cpu test of 3d06 is only a small component of your score..
     
  11. dcl

    dcl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,267
    Location:
    melbourne.au
    I had always wondered this. You also see alot of pro overclockers using PS2 adapters for USB mice too. :o
     
  12. Deanzo

    Deanzo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Nice mod :thumbup:

    Just got one of these things, will have to try that.
     

Share This Page