EVGA introduces the Classified SR-2 1200W Power Supply

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,863
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    [​IMG]

    http://www.evga.com/articles/00564/

    Full specs here: http://www.evga.com/products/moreinfo.asp?pn=100-PS-1200-GR

    Connectors:
    1 x 24pin
    2 x 8pin ATX
    12 x 6+2pin PCI-E
    3 x PCI-E 6pin
    9 x SATA
    6 x Molex
    1 x Floppy

    Performance:
    1200W Continuous Power
    +12v Rails: 6 x 38A
    Energy Rating: 80 Plus Silver

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2010
  2. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12,669
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Heh rebadged Antec much?

    I bet there is a 50 dollar price premium on it as well.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,863
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Yah, its rebadged Antec, but it has all the labels on it. Plus some tweak and extra connectors. They didn't hide it.
     
  4. Ryadasu

    Ryadasu Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Written on the label.. very subtle!
     
  5. garry

    garry Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,421
    Location:
    Port Kennedy 6172 WA
    Wouldn't the new corsair 1200 psu be better than this since it's gold rated.
     
  6. Dan N

    Dan N Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I just wish they should introduce a SR-2 case.....cos I'm bloody waiting...got stuck with my SR-2 mobo and parts too...
     
  7. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,863
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Pending on the price, yes. This EVGA unit has many more PCI-E power connectors compared to the Corsair. But it comes down to people's requirements.
     
  8. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4,705
    Location:
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    What snobs putting a 15A plug on it though.

    There is no way in hell that thing needs a 15A.
     
  9. Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    It's not a 15A, my old OP1000 has the same power plug but the end you stick in your power point is still a 10A plug with the regular earth pin as opposed to the larger earth on a 15A.

    Siverstone OP1000
    [​IMG]


    What the hell do we need 12 for?
    Max we can use ATM is 8 and even if cards come out with 3 x 6/8pin per card, the PSU wont be able to cope, it already (Antec 1200OC) can't cope with 4 x GTX480's as it is and barely copes with 4 x HD5870's OCed plus a 980x OCed.
    Each 8pin can supply 150w, so that's 1800w (if you could connect them all) just there with nothing else connected.

    Unusable gimmick me thinks.

    The fan is also noisy which may or may not be an issue, depends on what you use it for. For me it's benching so not an issue, but for a quietish powerful pc the enermax rev85+ 1250w or silverstone ST1500 is the better choice.

    Another thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a switch to turn the damn thing off which you need quite often when benching, so pulling the lead out is the only way.
    Antec say that it's something to do with the power delivery or some crap, IMO it's because they ran out of room to fit one in.

    Other than that, it's a great PSU.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2010
  10. n3wbi379

    n3wbi379 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,584
    Location:
    Melb
    Just woke up and that put a smile on my face :D

    After the bashing u gave it, u finished with that great line.... LOL. :lol:
     
  11. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,863
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Well the existing EVGA GeForce GTX 285 Classified, used three pci-express power connectors. So imagine four of those in your system = 12 power connectors :D They made sure that if they release something like that in the future again, it will be supported without a doubt.
     
  12. h2oxide

    h2oxide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Perth
    Man its early in the morning here in Perth, and as I was reading the thread comments, for some reason I thought this thread was on the AX1200, and I shat bricks.. 2 seconds later realized it was the SR-2 Classy PSU thread, PHEW
     
  13. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4,705
    Location:
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    That, my sir, is a 15A socket.
     
  14. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,500
    Location:
    Canberra
  15. Jarwedy

    Jarwedy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Rockhampton, QLD
    You can get power cords that go from C19 socket to a 10A Australian plug, which is probably what people have.

    Sexy looking PSU though :D.
     
  16. DarkLanDeamon

    DarkLanDeamon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    Geelong
    I thought each 8pin supplied 300w and 6pin was 150w alba?

    Still way to many pci-e lol.
     

Share This Page